May 18th, 2010

Lessons from the Regionals Part 1: Support


Above are just a couple of images representing the kind of support I felt this past weekend. I always go into these kinds of competitions thinking it is all about performance. We are performance junkies right. Most CFers would trade one of their six-pack abs (or a portion of their mono-ab as the case may be) for a minute off their Fran time. The goal of the Games, and the sectional and regional competitions leading up to them, is to find the fittest people on the planet. It is not meant to be a means of teaching lessons on the inside. You know the lasting kind that have to do with the heart and soul…but they always do. For me at least, I always walk away from these things a changed person. And I don’t just mean the rope burns on the hands and legs and the swollen knees, and sore calves and quads. I now realize that all along this wasn’t about placing in the top three and going to the Games it was about learning and growing. Well, the greatest thing that I learned, and there really is no greater thing to be learned, is that I am well-loved. This hit me as I rounded the corner to head up the gross and disgusting mile long hill on our 5 mile jaunt. At that moment I saw, unexpectedly, my support crew (which was by far the largest and loudest in the place!) there going nuts for me. At that point the energy and lightness I felt was amazing. It hit me again during the last WOD on the second rope climb of the second round. About half way up, with my hands locked up and my forearms as fat as sausages I found myself with my foot wrapped around the rope thinking that I may not make it. I wasn’t sure I could hang on any more. It felt like an eternity sitting there though it was only a few seconds, but as I sat I could hear every one of you cheering at the top of your lungs. This really was the only thing that made me choose up rather than down. There was no way to fail with you all there supporting me. As I walk away from the event, I didn’t place as high as I had hoped. The performance wasn’t what I had envisioned, but I can honestly say that I wouldn’t trade places with any of those three guys on the podium if it meant trading in the family and friends who care so deeply for me. Thank you all from the deepest parts of my heart for supporting me in something that is important to me.

AM Class

Thruster 3-3-3-3-3-3-3

Post loads to comments.

PM  Classes

Five rounds for time of:
40 Double-unders
30 Box jumps, 24 inch box
20 Kettlebell swings, 1.5 pood

Post time to comments.

3 Responses

  1. The weekend was filled with lots of emotion…
    The agony of failing on the rope climb was really hard to watch…a few just couldn’t go any further.

    Watching you take off on the 5 mile run and grabbing Jenny’s hand just before heading out was very moving, seeing your proud father watching both of his children compete. How cool is that?

    You can’t go to that event and not get something out of it. Inspiration if nothing else…

    Doesn’t hurt that there were about 150 hot bodies to look at, also very inspiring.

    Thanks again for all that your family does for us!!!

  2. Jeff, you truly are an inspiration to many many people, but to me you are the best. You have become such an important part in my life. I did not have a son, but now I have one. I am so proud of you and your sister. I know for sure that God put you and Charity together as one.

    God Bless
    Love
    Nanny

  3. […] to here or here. Like this:LikeBe the first to like this […]

Leave a Reply

