June 11th, 2010

Are You World Class?

World class is a term that is thrown around a lot these days, but what does it really mean? To be a world class CrossFitter do you have to compete in the Games? Is that enough? Or do you have to win the Games? How about that? A couple years ago the CrossFit Journal did an article about being world class. It takes a bit of a different approach, focusing more on attitude and effort. Emphasizing the more “controllable” elements of training like timeliness, desire, effort and nutrition. Let’s face it, most of us can get everything right and it still would not be enough to win the Games or maybe even go to the Games as a competitor. Heck, it may not even be enough to make you the fittest person at CFS! Implementing the elements outlined in this article, however, will give you the most out of your experience at CFS and that is worth working for. The more you put into your training and lifestyle the faster you will reach your goals. Whether your goals be purely functional, health related, aesthetic or some combination of the three you will get there faster as a world class trainee. Your health and fitness is your responsibility. Take control of your fitness destiny and strive for what you want. All the tools you need to attain those goals are available to you at CFS take advantage of us! Read this free article and post your thoughts to comments about what makes a World Class Trainee.

All Classes

Paul

Five rounds for time of:
50 Double unders
35 Knees to elbows
185 pound Overhead walk, 20 yards

Pat Barber 18:49, Taz Venter 29:31 (135lbs). Post time to comments.

6 Responses

  1. Well said Bro Paterno, great post!

  2. After reading the article I will never complain about working out at a nice cozy hotel on the road, no one is shooting at me there.

  3. Thanks Brony Dorsett!

  4. Great article. Mad props to everyone who went through today’s WOD… time ran out before I could complete the last round so I’ll have to work on improving those darn Double-Unders…..

  5. 28:42?
    Scaled:
    knee ups
    25 du each round
    overhead weight 65#

    Sometimes it’s frustrating to me that nearly each WOD I perform is scaled. (Thanks Jeff for directing my efforts because instead of working on du’s all morning I did get to work on the other excercises as well.) 🙂 I work out with some amazing athletes and love to watch their incredible performances!! I really enjoyed this article…Every WOD feels like a lesson in humility for me. Even so, I’m so thankful my body can do what it can do. Everyday I look forward to improving in some way and I’m REALLY looking forward to the day I can put an “RX” by my name!

    Thanks for sharing this article and for the great coaching! 🙂

  6. Marie,
    Great comment. Focus on the improvement. Wait until we go back and repeat your early WODs. You have come a long way!
    JV

Leave a Reply

