It’s not easy being green

I’m thinking nothing but green today. Two reasons why: A) I’m envious of everyone’s amazing PRs and B) our little frog is missing. Meet Pull:
This was taken a few days ago before he lost that tail, grew his little legs, and hopped out of the tank– we think… Pull’s disappearance has got me thinking about green foods. Here’s a great appetizer.

Spinach-Artichoke Dip

1 can (14 oz) artichoke hearts in water
4 oz cream cheese
1/4 c. plus 1 Tbs grated parmesan
1 Tbs fresh lemon juice
1 small garlic clove
1/4 tsp cayenne pepper
2 green onion, sliced
1 package (10 oz) frozen chopped spinach, thawed and squeezed dry
Raw vegetables, such as bell peppers, carrot slices, cauliflower, celery for dipping

Place half the artichokes in a food processor, add cream cheese, 1/4 c. Parmesan, lemon juice, garlic, cayenne and 3 Tbs water. Process until smooth.

Add green onions, remaining artichokes, and spinach, pulse briefly (I like to leave some chunks). Transfer mixture to a serving bowl, top with 1 Tbs Parmesan and serve dip with raw vegetables.

Personally I like this dip hot, just stick it in a 350 degree oven until parmesan melts, then serve with fresh veggies.

Keep checking my website for lots more food ideas!
Happy eating,
Andrea

5 Responses

  1. So sorry to hear about little Pull. We had to set sweet little Push free too, back into his pond after he got his leg bit off by our Beta and he wouldn’t eat the frozen lettuce shreds we gave him. I mean what’s not to like, why’s he gotta get all selective about his food and such! Maybe we need to research more before adopting more tadpoles.
    JV

    PS- I lost my grit on round 5 of that WOD. Accidentally Jerked the last Push press because I was getting too tired so I knew it was technically a fail so I did one front squat and then just gave up! Lame! I needed the Stein crew there to yell at me.

    • The 5th round was where the rubber hit the road on that WOD. I wanted to switch to push presses so bad!

    • NNOOOOO! You were doing so good! I really don’t know how you work out by yourself and get all gritty without someone yelling at you. I know I couldn’t have gotten through my 5th round w/o you and M-Pav yelling me through it!

  2. Oh yeah, as always, the recipe looks crazy delicious!
    JV

  3. That spinach artichoke dip is AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!! I like how you incorperated Pull’s dissapearence!!! I miss the little guy 😥 a little more research, maybe?

Leave a Reply

