July 16th, 2010

Baby Steps

“Do something. Write it down. Improve on it next time.” This is something I find myself saying on a regular basis in the gym. It speaks to the CrossFit mantra of “measurable, observable and repeatable.” This is one of the big things that sets our program apart from most others. Constant tracking gives you proof positive that you are getting better. You need not get worried if your performance wasn’t rx’d or wasn’t up to speed with the guy or gal next to you. All you need to do is choose appropriate loads and volumes, move well, write down your results and keep CrossFitting and the improvement part will take care of itself. This semi-conservative approach leads to better technique, less injury and ultimately, because of these two factors, better fitness down the road. This little process of completing a WOD, recording it and then trying to better that performance next time adds up to life changing fitness when followed regularly and coupled with good nutrition.

Post thoughts to comments.

5:30AM, 9:15AM & 5:15PM Classes

Back Squat 5-5-5-5-5 reps

Post loads to comments.

Compare to here.

10 Responses

  1. 310 lbs. X 5

    I think that was a 10 lb. PR since starting CrossFit. Back in my football days, almost 20 years ago, I could squat heavier. But not in ‘modern’ history. To quote Toby Keith, “I ain’t as good as I once was. But I’m as good once as I ever was.”

    Way to go Marie & Casey also hitting PRs. Shawn did awesome also, but I am not sure if that was really his PR or not since he is still adjusting to low bar squats. He is a squatting machine! He made 360 lbs. seem pretty easy this morning. Wow!

  2. RE: Baby Steps

    Totally agree. The best part about CrossFit is that it is your workout and performance that matter, not anybody else’s. If you track and compare your performance each WOD, you can always PR in some way (more weight, moving faster, better technique). The ‘baby step’ improvements coupled with the constantly varied stimulus/workouts helps to avoid both injuries and overtraining, which is key to making continual progress.

  3. Well said John. The squats looked solid today too.
    JV

  4. Got up to 190lbs for a set of 5. That’s a 15lb PR!

  5. 360lbs x 5

    Even though this is a strength of mine, this got me thinking that CrossFit is working for me.

    I came to CrossFit in search of a missing link. To somehow find what weaknesses I have that are holding back my performance, specifically those that I haven’t been able to find a solution to (other than stop eating crap food :)). I’ve done 350×10 before, but honestly every time I pushed a back squat it was kind of scary. While one part would be plenty strong there was always an unsteadiness in other areas I didn’t feel control over, preventing pushing farther, leaning back on forth on toes, etc…
    This morning I felt that those other physical areas have been attended to making my squat stronger (i.e. hip flexors, totally burnt them out on that 10min pushup/squat/burpee day!!) The coaching’s been great to actually utilize my strength rather than fight through it.

    Pushing the weight through wasn’t scary this morning, it was just an exercise of effort. Much more pleasurable and felt focused on the strength (I’m assuming making the gains easier to achieve).

    Just my musing that I think CrossFit’s going to work when it can improve upon what I’m already good at. I even felt like I had more. My pull ups could only go up, heck, I don’t think they could’ve gotten worse. 🙂

  6. PR today! Wait, it was my first day with squats? Thanks Casey for the instruction with the wider legs, it felt like it clicked! 215# x 5. Great job 9:15 crew!

  7. 130# for 5. That’s a 30# PR!

    I brought my arms in really close and it really helped stabilize the bar. Thanks Casey and way to go 5:15!

  8. […] to here. Like this:LikeBe the first to like this […]

Leave a Reply

