Cashew what?

This week I ran across an ice cream recipe that literally blew me away. Cashew Ice Cream, I know completely bizarre– so I had to try it, which I found on Elena’s Pantry Website. She calls it Vegan Vanilla Ice Cream, I call it super interesting.

1 cup (raw) cashews
2 cups water
1/4 cup honey
1 tablespoon vanilla extract
1 pinch celtic sea salt

1.In a Vita-Mix (or other high speed blender), combine all ingredients and blend on high speed

2.Pour mixture into an ice cream maker and process according to instructions

The only change I made was to substitute honey for agave nector. I don’t own a vita-mix so the blended ingredients turned out a bit grainy which was distracting. And, after spending too much at Freddie’s, I’ve found the cheapest raw cashews at Trader Joes @ $5.49 per pound. This recipe is one that really needs to be made, not because it tastes really good, but for the mere satisfaction of watching cashews turn into ice cream. Mind boggling.

Eat well friends,
Andrea

3 Responses

  1. This ice cream is delicious! It was even better with a little chocolate syrup on it (of course isn’t everything?).

  2. Yum! I can’t wait to try it. Did the kids like it too?

Leave a Reply

