August 31st, 2010

Mobility and Recovery

At the end of nearly every session we wrap up with some sort of mobility/stretching/recovery drill. These are a key part of The Program. They not only ward off acute and overuse injuries, they are performance enhancers allowing you to get into better positions and be stronger and more effective at your end ranges of motion. So if your performance is less than what you want it to be or you have more aches and pains than you would like put more focus onto the work we do at the end of class. As your coach it is my responsibility to give you the best experience I can. That said, this part of the class is not optional. It is as important as the WOD. Don’t skip it. Trust me, its because I care! If you are at the other end of the spectrum and just can’t get enough mobility work and want to continue it at home, check out Kelly Starret’s Mobility WOD. It is the best thing to hit the internet since the CFS blog. A daily “WOD” revolving around flexibility, mobility and recovery with the aim of increasing performance. They are usually less than 10 minutes long and are extremely effective as some of you have felt in recent classes. Expect more of these techniques to show up in upcoming classes. Homework: Perform this Mobility WOD today at home and post your thoughts about it to comments.

5:30 AM Class

Johnson

Complete as many rounds in 20 minutes as you can of:
245 pound Deadlift, 9 reps
8 Muscle-ups
155 pound Squat clean, 9 reps

Post rounds completed to comments.

9:15 AM and 5:15 PM Classes

Happy rest day!

9 Responses

  1. Three rounds of as many reps of each movement as possible in 2 minutes each:
    – 245 # Deadlift
    – Muscle-ups
    – Squat cleans w/155#s

    40+29+24=93

    Reality set in with the muscle-ups today. They were not very pretty. The first minute of the first round I thought that there was a good chance I would not get any at all and I started to get a little worried. The key fix seemed to be getting my head through at the transition point. Ended up going 1-2-1 for the 3 rounds. The rest of the 5:30 class pushed really hard and posted some good scores. Nice work everyone on a tough WOD.

  2. Three rounds of as many reps of each movement as possible in 2 minutes each:
    – 205 # Deadlift
    – Muscle-ups
    – Squat cleans w/100#

    Reps for three rounds – 25 – 34 – 29

    Like John, first set of MUs were not there, second and thrid set were better 2 – 6 – 4. Great effort by all this morning.

    Will

  3. Three rounds of as many reps of each movement as possible in 2 minutes each:
    – 245 # Deadlift
    – Muscle-ups
    – Squat cleans w/155#s

    23+16+15=54 (I think these were my numbers)

    I couldn’t get any muscle-ups today. Felt good to really push it on the squat cleans (weight-wise), but my form broke down quite a bit.

  4. Three rounds of as many reps of each movement as possible in 2 minutes each:
    – 245 # Deadlift
    – Ring Rows
    – Squat cleans w/155#

    40-42-44=126

    Squat Cleans were not pretty today. I just think it’s time for a day off (yea yea, I know I’ve been supposed to be resting regularly 🙂 ). Otherwise a fun wod that really is over before you realize it. Don’t hold back.

  5. Thanks for posting the mobility wods, crossfit endurance has been posting this link and I’ve never watched the video long enough to figure out what theyr’e talking about.

    My chirporactor, who specializes in athletes, said the most profound thing to me today. He learned in a seminar this weekend that the only difference between a Div 1 athlete and a Div 3 athlete is flexibility. Meaning both can lift the same amounts, run the same, however one’s flexability makes her excel. People, watch out, I’m gonna get flexible.

    • I second this. I’m going to try and start following the mobilities wod’s. Feels like it’s ‘holding me back’.

  6. Did the mobility WOD. Felt like my outer hammy and butt were going to throw up.
    JV

  7. This was a super hard wod to do the day after 600 ft of walking lunges. Even squatting is hard today. Question: are these wods set up to do when you’re cold, or specifically after a workout?

    His crotch shots have got to go.

  8. Just did the mobility WOD. That was a pretty intense stretch! Jeff’s comment about his hammy & butt wanting to upchuck are spot one. It definitely loosened up my hips & hams. Tried the Sott’s Press test. My hips, butt and hammy felt waaay looser post mobility WOD. The Sott’s Press is a tough! I was able to single with the 45 bar, but that is it.

Leave a Reply

