November 16th, 2010

Today we are going to play a little bit on the rings. The goal is going to be virtuosity of movement. No clock. Have fun. Overcome some fears and learn some new skills. Check out the WOD demo below. It is outstanding.

WOD Demo at CrossFit Santa Cruz – video [wmv] [mov]

5:30 AM, 9:15 AM, 5:15 PM

Complete five rounds of:
On the rings, lower from an inverted hang, slowly, with straight body and arms, 5 reps
15 Ring Push-ups
Move SLOWLY and methodically attempting perfect execution. Ideally this is done with two pairs of rings – one pair hung app. 8′ off the ground and the second 4″ off the ground.

Post impressions to comments.

11 Responses

  1. More productive than I thought it’d be (vs. goofing off). Enjoyed trying different methods/positions to lower down, as well as getting the skill to get up without swinging around (tougher than it seems).

  2. Kinda of like a slow motion a__ kicking.

    I enjoyed the WOD. It is some where inbetween a skill day, a strength WOD and a metcon. I am sore already. Don’t skip this one thinking it is not a productive workout, because it sure felt like one. I am a little sore already.

    • I must really have been sore when I wrote that comment, I said it twice 🙂 I feel better now though. I think it was a combo of a movement that we don’t normally do and using muscles in different directions and speeds than we usualy do in a WOD.

      • I was thinking about his a bit and why we feel different, and I think part of the difference from our normal methods is that with the inverted movement, your muscles are failing outright through the ROM with multiple repetitions. usually we don’t ‘fail’ throughout the entire movement, and certainly not for reps.

      • (to finish the thought, submitted it too fast)
        Usually we only have a very small range of motion we fail at (last couple of inches of a pull up, bottom of a squat, yada) so I wonder if this is sneaking up on you by stressing (out of normal strength range) the entire range of movement.
        Just a thought.

  3. I’m feeling it already too! This was fun! I felt like a 10 year old hanging upside down off those rings.

  4. Fun but tough WOD…

    Adding to Shawn’s post – Also, I felt that my entire body was at full contraction throughout the entire movement..which wouldn’t have been too bad since we aim to keep everything as tight as possible during our regular WODs, but this particular WOD had to be executed REAL SLOW…….. That’s when it started to hurt so good..

    Momentum seems to be our best friend that gets us through other WODs..I sure missed my best friend today..=)

    • This was a WOD with no fastest time, most rounds completed or heaviest amount of weight lifted, but I think the 5:15 class would agree that Halee was the undisputed ‘Winner’. His great form and ability to cycle from fully inverted to hanging and back again to fully inverted was fun to watch. It was like watching a gymnast.

      Awsome job on this WOD Halee!

  5. Good job on a workouts today 9:15 & 5:15 classes. I got to see both today. Lots of great effort!

    I wanted to give a shout out to two people who mastered the climbing rope this week. Ben strolled in today after being out the gym for a few days and with a few tips on the foot lock got his first rope climb. My wife Kandi also got hers last week.

    Great job you two! Outside of a Crossfit gym, the average man or women has probably zero chance of being able to compete with you two in that skill.

  6. Yay, for Ben and Kandi! That’s a great goal to accomplish. John’s right, there’s not many people who can accomplish that one.

    Way to persevere!
    -CV

  7. wow great job Ben and Kandi!
    That is awesome!
    mags

Leave a Reply

