November 30th, 2010

Outstanding New Coaches Part 1: Meet John and Family

All of  our CFS Coaches are hand selected and trained. They represent our philosophies and core values well. John, fits that to a tee. He cares about improving people’s quality of life through CrossFit and nutrition and that is the only reason we exist. He does this with humility and confidence all at the same time. You can’t teach that, and that is one of the main reasons John is now a part of our staff. Enjoy your new coach CFS, he’s a keeper!

John Pavlic

CF Level 1 Certified
CF Olympic Lifting Certified

I was very physically active into my 20s and early thirties.  But in my
mid-thirties I got out of the habit of working out and gradually fell
farther and farther out of shape.  I had a gym membership, but I never went
there because I had no connection to any of the staff or other members and
my workouts were boring.  I ballooned up from 6’2” 235 lbs. to 280 lbs.  I
was so out of shape that just going up the stairs in our house left me
winded.  Just before I turned about 38, I decided that I needed to make a
change before it became impossible to do so.  I started working out again
and paying attention to what I ate.  I got some results, but grew bored
again with the standard 20 minutes on the treadmill and 3 sets of ten
workouts that I did before.

About the same time, I saw an article about CrossFit in Muscle & Fitness
that led me to CrossFit.com.  I watched all the videos I could on the site
and then tried a few of the workouts myself, I think ‘Cindy’ was one of my
first. Those first workouts (and many since) destroyed me, but I felt happy
and excited about working out for the first time since I was in my 20’s.  I
followed the main site daily WOD (workout of the day) religiously and ate a
healthier diet than I ever had before.  The weight came off faster than I
expected and my fitness level improved faster than I thought possible.  The
best thing was that instead of dreading my work out like I used to, I
looked forward to them as the highlight of my day.  Over the course of two
years I lost 60 lbs., went from being able to barely do one or two pull-ups
to being able to do 30 and now instead of getting winded going up the
stairs I can run a 5K with my only worry being whether or not I would beat
the PR I set the last time I ran it.  At 40 years old I weigh 220 lbs.,
less than I weighed in my twenties, and I can do things such as muscle-ups
and handstand push-ups that the 20 year old me could not have done on his
best day.

CrossFit has helped me become a better, happier person and led me to a much
healthier life than I ever would have been able to find on my own.  I have
become a better me and as a trainer I hope to help you do the same thing.

5:30 AM Class

Ryan

Five rounds for time of:
7 Muscle-ups
21 Burpees

Post time to comments.

Compare to here.

9:15 AM and 5:15 AM Classes

Happy rest day!

11 Responses

  1. SO excited to have John as a trainer! You have always been so encouraging and positive—this is a great fit for you!

    What a beautiful family too!

  2. Fantastic post! John I always appreciate your encouragement and knowledge about lifts, strageties, fundamentels– I guess everything crossfit!

  3. Looking forward to having you coach…

  4. What a great picture and amazing story. Thanks for sharing it!

  5. John, Thanks for sharing your story. The level of fitness that you have achieved is just as impressive as your character and humbleness. When word gets out that Crossfit Snohomish has such great trainers we are going to need a bigger gym.

  6. 22:50 (I think)
    big green band assisted muscle ups, the ring dip portion is still killer!

    Congrats to Amy on her first WOD with unassisted pull-ups! That’s such a great feeling!

    • Jeff is selective and definitely made good choices I think you are great addition to the CFS coaches as you’re always helping people push in a positive, energetic and constructive manner, as well as just a pleasure to work out with (I still cry a little you’re cheating on me with the 9:15am sessions). Look forward to seeing you John.

      And I’d like to be the first to vote that as a CFS coach, he is required to keep his rockstar cowboy mustache as that is the state we accepted him as coach.

      • Thanks Shawn! 5:30 AM is very early, but I will do my best to hit it on a few Thursdays or Fridays in the future (I do feel a little like I am cheating on the 5:30 AM crew sometimes).

        If it were up to me, I would probably keep the mustache until I got tired of it. Then probably switch over to a Wolverine super mutton chops look, which I think would be spectacular. My wife Kandi is not a strong fan of the ‘stache and at the end of a contest (in about a week) that I am having with some co-workers I will be retiring it…until next Movemeber. 🙂

  7. 32:37 Rx’d + weight 20# vest*

    *Just kidding about the vest – NO WAY 🙂

    In a word – horrible. A hero WOD very worthy of a fallen fire fighter.

  8. Awesome John!
    35 MU way to go. Hard to believe that you just got MU a couple months ago.
    JV

  9. Thanks for everyone’s kind words. I am very excited about the opportunity to work with all the great members that we have in our gym. See you soon!

Leave a Reply

