December 1st, 2010

Outstanding New Coaches Part 2: Meet Ryan and Family

I don’t take the task of selecting new CFS coaches lightly. There are a variety of things that I look for, quality of character being at the top of the list. Well, Ryan fit the bill in every way. What I really like about Ryan is his passion to see people have the same success he has had. He is such a great living example of what CrossFit and real food can do and he has the coaching and personal skills to help others follow in his footsteps. Like I said yesterday CFS, enjoy your new coach. We are blessed to have him on our team.

Ryan Lundquist

CF level 1 Certified

My fitness world changed 100 percent when I was first introduced to CrossFit by my wife. I had always assumed that I was in good shape as an adult but was challenged the first day I met Jeff. I was a regular at the global gym and was involved in sports but always desired to push the limits of my potential.  I have been CrossFitting since June of 2009 and have seen increased fitness results each and every month.  When I combined proper nutrition with CrossFit, I surpassed any level of fitness that I had ever attained in my life previous and can’t wait to see what the future holds for me.

 After about a year of training I wanted to help others in attaining their full fitness potential. There is nothing more motivating than a gym that breathes encouragement while you work to attain your fitness goals. I desire to help you begin the CrossFit journey at whatever capacity that you require and look forward to watching others have as much success as I have been lucky enough to have.

All Classes

15 minutes to achieve a 1 rep squat clean max.

Post load to comments.

then…

As many rounds and reps as possible in ten minutes of:
125# Squat clean, 6 reps
12 Pull-ups
24 Double-unders

Post rounds completed to comments.

19 Responses

  1. Oh my goodness. Perfect smiles on everyone! Another great CFS story. Keep up the great work!

  2. I was honored to have been asked by Jeff to help with the coaching at CF Snohomish both because I respect Jeff’s knowledge and coaching ability and because of the quality of the other two people that he had chosen to coach at CFS.

    I have only known Ryan a short time, but he is one of the most positive people that I have every met and is extremely passionate about the benefits of CrossFit for himself and others. I will probably have to work my butt off to keep up with him as a fellow coach the same way I do to keep up with him during most WODs.

  3. Great picture :o) Great people….
    Looking forward to having you coach us and watching Delaney take some more steps, she will be running soon.

  4. 2 rounds + 5 DU’S (w/ 20# vest)
    push ups for pull ups (resting tweaked shoulder)

    Get your DU rhythm BEFORE the WOD. I completely sucked trying to go in without touching the jump rope for two weeks.

    • I tried jumping rope with the vest the other day. Single are easy and double-unders are brutal. Way to go trying knock this one out with the vest.

      • I’ve done a few WODs with DU+vest and find that technical/skill isn’t any more difficult than without IF I have the rhythm going. It just makes me fatigue faster.
        This morning I swear all of the Irish white guy was pouring out! No rhythm! Nice job on the 4 rounds!

        Amy: I apparently lied this morning. I said I previously got 5.5 rounds(6PU’s per round), but last time we did this it was for 20mins, not 10min. No wonder I was confused.

    • Welcome Ryan. It was a pleasure to have you as coach this morning and I’m sure that’s a sign of the great coaching to come. Your knowledge is definitely evident and positive energy always welcome when WODing together (well, as I’m chasing). Guess I’ll be seeing you a bit more often!

    • oh… 205lbs 1RM Squat Clean

  5. 225 1RM Squat clean
    (failed on a couple attempts at 240 and one at 235#s)

    4 rounds Rx’d

    Not a great morning, but probably due to beat down yesterday. Struggle with squat cleans, just not mentally there today. Then tried to do the the WOD with weight lifting shoes just to see what doing a double-unders in a WOD with them would be like. Don’t do that. Dumb and unnecessary at this weight. 1st round of doubles I had to ditch the shoes and go through the rest of the WOD in socks, which was not too bad but taking off the shoes cost me some time.

    Even with the shoe issue, I really enjoyed the 10 min. AMRAP. Definitely get your money’s worth in those 10 minutes.

  6. Ryan, what can I say? As a fellow Cascade High graduate and Everett Rowing Alum– seriously your future is so bright! Looking forward to having you coach us. I just wish you would slow down so I could catch you on anything.

    115# squat clean, 5 # pr, always exciting.

    10 min AMRAP rx’d: 2 rounds + 3 squat cleans.

  7. The addition of John and Ryan to the CFS coaching staff will be a great compliment to the already stellar Team of Jeff and Casey. The enthusiasm John and Ryan show in the gym is infectious and will be a great motivator for CFS Members.

    One of the reasons I love going to different CF Boxes when I travel is being able to get a new perspective on a particular movement or WOD. Having two new coaches in the gym will give everyone a new perspective and tips on how to “Move Well”

    The regular schedule is just Icing on the Paleo meat cake.

    162# 7# PR

    10 min AMRAP 2 rounds plus 6 squat cleans. Scaled to 6 squat cleans 6 pull ups (RX’ed 🙂 12 DU attempts.

  8. Glenn, way to go on the pull ups!!! I just realized you did them without a band– huge step!!! Sorry I didn’t realize at the WOD, you toss DUs at me and I immediately panic.

    BTW, all the coaches have gorgeous family photos, it’s time for the Stein’s to upgrade!

  9. Glenn’s developed a sweet little kipping pull-up the last few weeks. He knocked out a few ‘bandless’ pull-ups at the end of difficult WOD about 1-2 weeks ago. I remember thinking how awesome they looked.

  10. 3 rounds, +6 (unassisted!) pull ups. I only did 6 pull ups each round, otherwise I don’t think I would have made it through one whole round.
    Ryan, good job today! It’s fun changing things up. We’ll just have to get some good music going next time…
    And Shawn, that makes way more sense. I was a little confused too, but I guess it was 5:30 in the morning. At least that’s my excuse. 🙂

  11. I totally agree with what everyone has said above.. Ryan, John, Casey, & Jeff – we are all privileged to have such talented coaches who are compassionate about helping us improve ourselves each and every day.

    You guys make CFS truly stand out from the rest..

    Thank you=)

    165# -1RM Squat Clean
    3 rounds + 6 Squat Cleans completed Rx’d

  12. What a wonderful family picture! Congratulations, Ryan. I know John has really enjoyed training with you. 🙂

  13. […] (the guy who smoked us all on the mile today).  He recently asked two of his favorite trainers (Ryan and I) for a favor.  Not being able to say no to one of CFS’ most charismatic of the […]

Leave a Reply

