December 7th, 2010

Annie and Marie get all Cleaned Up!

Watch the squat clean videos above. Notice the improvement from the first clean for each to the second. What got better? What things are we looking for in a clean? What improvements could still be made?

Post thoughts to comments.

 

“Tabata This!”

Tabata Row
Rest 1 minute
Tabata Squat
Rest 1 minute
Tabata Pull-up
Rest 1 minute
Tabata Push-up
Rest 1 minute
Tabata Sit-up

The Tabata interval is 20 seconds of work followed by 10 seconds of rest for 8 intervals.
Tabata score is the least number of reps performed in any of the eight intervals. Unit for the row is “calories”.

Post score to comments.

16 Responses

  1. Marie’s first attempt had two flaws that plague my technique on the cleans. 1. Bending the arms too soon during the second pull. 2. Not getting under the bar fast enough.

    She did a great job during the second attempt keeping her arms straight as long as possible during the second pull, keeping the bar close to her body/going straight up and reaching full extension before pulling her self under the bar. She could have gotten her elbows around and up a tad faster in the catch and got under the bar a little bit quicker, but the second attempt was a big improvement over the first.

    Annie bent her elbows too soon during the second pull and was a little slow getting her elbows around and up during the first lift. She still was able to get the lift, but it looked tougher than it needed to be. She improved in both areas during the second attempt and the lift looked a lot easier. She still did not quite reach full extension (during the second pull) in either attempt, so that would be something to work on.

  2. Glenn and I finished this workout at home. Glenn got 33 and the only variation was to use a red band. I got 32 and use a black band and knee push ups. It certainly got our hearts racing.

    • Great job getting it done well. Always awesome getting the motivation going without others. I bet it’s nice to have each other so not entirely solo WODing.

      Though while I know you guys have the drive, and that can take it’s toll (been there), I do miss you guys in the gym. Always good energy.

  3. Thanks for your comments, John. I wish I could see it in slow motion to see my lack of full extension in the second pull. I know I bend my arms too soon, but haven’t thought about getting elbows around and serious full extension until now.

    Props to our coaches for their mad skillz picking out these flaws when the lift seems to go so fast. I always get so impressed when Jeff tells me things to work on when I swear the lift happened at worp speed. I swear all he has to do is look at you out of the corner of his eye, or you just get near the bar, and he can already pick out an area of improvement.

    • What I menat by that is that he has a sick level of expertise.

    • The relatively easy part is finding the faults, the harder part is fixing them. Most of the issues I pointed out are common to my clean and snatch technique, I can’t seem to fix them all either. πŸ™‚

  4. 43 Rx’d
    8row,5pull up,6push up,8sit-up,16squat Rx’d
    (just realized our sequence was different, though I don’t think it would’ve made a difference)

    Really suprised on the push ups, started @ 13 with moderate pace, then choose 10, thinking “I can always do 10.” It was full effort to get those 6 push ups in the last round. ug.
    Really happy my shoulder took the pull-ups, including no tweaking during the last rounds when form deteriorates.

    Great job Brad/Mike. Pleasure to WOD as always.

  5. 43 Rx’d (3-rep PR)
    6 pullups, 5 pushups, 11 situps, 14 squats

  6. 46 Rx’d

    8 cals row, 7 pull-ups, 7 push-ups, 10 situps, 14 squats

    Almost had it in my to do 9 cals on the rower , 15 reps on the squats and 11 sit-ups. The pull-ups and push-ups were max efforts. during the last few intervals. I thought I was going to do better at both and instead they were the hardest to get through.

    I love these bodyweight WODs, even though they are really hard. They really leave you feeling like you got a good workout.

  7. 42 Rx’d
    5 row, 5 pulls ups, 5 push ups, 12 sit ups, 15 squats.

  8. 38 Rx’d – wow, push’d at the end. Pu toughest for me.

  9. ok this was so hard!
    i am SO sore is anybody else sore?
    hmm i 4get my score…

    mags

  10. πŸ™‚ πŸ˜€ 😦

  11. πŸ˜• 😎 😑 πŸ˜› 😐 πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜† 😳 πŸ˜₯ πŸ‘Ώ 😈 πŸ™„ ❗ ❓ πŸ’‘ ➑ :mrgreen:

  12. that was so cool!!!

  13. […] to here. Like this:LikeBe the first to like this […]

Leave a Reply

