February 2nd, 2011

Back Squat 3-3-3-3 reps

Post loads to comments.

Compare to here.

then…

Tabata “Bottom to Bottom” Squat
Run 1 mile

Clock starts for run on rising from last squat.

The Tabata Bottom to Bottom Squat is a Tabata Squat but each rep begins at the bottom and ends at the bottom. The turn around at the top is immediate – no pause. The ten-second rest for each interval is also held at the bottom of the squat as opposed to the top. Interestingly, this squat, in contrast to the “normal” Tabata squat, motivates full hip extension. Also, the ten second rests don’t seem as short with this protocol!

Post Tabata score and mile run time to comments.

13 Responses

  1. Back Squat: 415 3RM (15lbs PR for 3RM)
    (335-385-405-415)
    Tabata: 13 (should’ve pushed a little harder
    1mile Run: 7:59
    Thanks again for building up the awesome pace Brandie, it was excellent. I wouldn’t have done that on my own.

  2. 305/12/7:56

    415×3 Back squat for Shawn and 215×3 for Brandie! Are kidding me! Wow! Way to go you two!

    I think they use bottom to bottom squat to torture detainees held at Guantanamo.

  3. Whoa!!! Monster loads, you guys. Niiiiiiice!

    Way to go on hitting that PR, Shawn. Did you switch your shoes for the mile run?

    • thanks buddy
      I ran in the fivefingers. I did that Saturday as well (5x400m). I decided to stop putting it off, go for it, and just be smart to stop if it brings any pain or weirdness.
      It’s not so bad, bit awkward, I haven’t gotten properly educated so I’m trying to let nature take its course and feel my way into it. I definitely haven’t gotten it 100% smooth (as Brandie can attest to this morning’s flopping sound behind her run), but it feels like it’s coming.

  4. 307# BS ,11 Tabata, 7:49 mile

    Good job 9:15!

  5. FYI – Due to construction in the building, there may be no bathroom available. Plan ahead 🙂

  6. 307# BS, 12 Tabata, 7:11 mile

  7. 180# BS, 12 Tabata, 7:27 mile

  8. 225 / 13 / 7:41 Wow Brooke, great effort today!

  9. Was not my day….My shoulder hurt more from the weight then my legs…127# about the same as last time no PR, this time. but 10 on the tabata and 9:50 on the mile(terrible) I just wasn’t into it today.
    It was nice getting done at 5:15 instead of starting at that time. Great job guys…at 4:15 Naomi got 100# twice 8 on tabata and 5:?? on 1/2 mile…good job Naomi

  10. Great Job today Shawn! Way to push me at the end–I definitely wouldn’t have sprinted the last stretch without you. Thanks John–nice job on the mile–I know how much you like to run! : )

  11. […] to here. Eco World Content From Across The Internet. Featured on EcoPressed Government Report […]

Leave a Reply

