February 12th, 2011

The Kitchen Gadgets Part 2: Move over Ginsu

Knives have always been challenging to me. I am not sure I have ever really owned good kitchen knives and if I have I sure as heck couldn’t keep them sharp. Having a really nice sharp knife enhances your kitchen experience immeasurably. Truly sharpening a knife (rather than just honing the edge) is a two step process and is somewhat of an art form in and of itself. I have never been able to figure it out. This past birthday all these culinary woes may have been relieved. My in-laws gave me a set of ceramic Kyocera knives. Ceramic? That’s right. Harder than metal, these knives allegedly only need sharpening every few years. When that time comes you can simply send them into the factory for complimentary sharpening. The set that I got is a two knife set consisting of a Santoku knife and a paring knife. They are RAZOR sharp. Like the kind of sharp where you cut yourself within 30 seconds of taking them out of the package. Yeah I did. For me one of the true tests of a knife’s sharpness is how it cuts a tomato. When I put these babies to the test it seemed as though simply the weight of the knife on the skin of the tomato was enough to send it through the flesh effortlessly. These knives are available at online or at kitchen stores like Sur la Table. The set that I have will set you back about $80. If you are in the market for a good set of knives I don’t think you will regret this purchase.

9 AM Class

Murph

For time:
1 mile Run
100 Pull-ups
200 Push-ups
300 Squats
1 mile Run

Partition the pull-ups, push-ups, and squats as needed. Start and finish with a mile run.

Post time to comments.

Compare to here.

Please be on time for a quick warm up so we can get this one going.

16 Responses

  1. There are two things that we’ve never had in our house. Guns and sharp knives. Still no weapons but after many years of dull knives these sound pretty good, even though I hate tomatoes(nothing personal).
    Sorry I can’t join everone tomorrow at crossfit for “Murph” but i’ll try to make something up at work. You guy’s are always the best!

  2. I have tried many different knives and sharpeners and none seem to work very well, I will give these ceramic knives a try since they have the “VALE” seal of approval. I see a marketing opportunity here…. get D. Pav to work up a Business Plan.

    Since we have the CFS 1.0 Stud Bar in the Garage Marguerite and I are going to WOD it up at the house in the morning. We will post times and scaling when (If) we are done.

  3. 1 mile run ( treadmill ) 100 push-ups, 200 sit-ups, 300 squats, 100 burpees, 1 mile run 58:xx min. Ugly

  4. 52:55 -that’s all I have to say about that.

    Great job everyone who showed today. Saturday is yours!!!

  5. A lot of first time and fully Rx’d Murph’s today. That is probably the toughest strictly body weight workout CrossFit will throw at you. Way to go everybody!

  6. 49:53 Rx’d
    whooo… big tough day! A feel great afterward for the accomplishment day.
    Ultimate worst feeling mid-WOD, for some reason I had it my head there were 10 rounds of 5/10/15’s. Until starting on round 9, feeling decent, totally ready for final sprint everyone reminded it’s 20 rounds. My heart sunk for a min or two!

    Big props to Andrea and Kandi for pushing ‘beyond themselves’ to finish all of the reps! Especially Andrea who I saw fight to keep the proper plank for every push up in the last rounds.
    Matt’s just a machine, hands down.

  7. 39:59

    Once again, everybody was amazing! Way to push through to the end Annie!!

    Brad…ummmm….I think “Murph” would’ve been easier than your workout!! Nice job!

  8. 1/2 Murph 43:12 Still really sore from the Thursday WOD. Used blue band P/U and kid on a leash Push Ups.

    Awesome job to those who RX’ed it at CFS today. Amazing time Matt.

    Brad needs to have his head examined. Nice work. He definitely needs to head to the Games this year.

  9. Great push-ups today by all, but especially our 3 CFS lady athletes. Kandi, Andrea & Brandie all completed the Rx’d amount of push-ups. I bet know of them expected to be able to do 200 push-ups prior to starting CrossFit.

  10. Painful. 67min? 69 min? In a daze after it was all said and done. 1000m straight leg row, 100 pull ups purple band, 200 push ups, 300 sit ups, 1000m straight leg row. Felt rather defeated afterward. Attempting to get over that. Would have felt better if I could have done the pull ups without the band. Will try again next time. πŸ™‚
    Fabulous job to everyone. Brandie you are amazing! You are going to kill the competition in Marysville. Andrea- did you do all pull ups unbroken? I kept seeing you out of my peripheral. Best kip in the gym if you ask me. πŸ™‚ Nicely done on doing everything Rxd! πŸ™‚

  11. I’m finally mentally stable enough to write my times.
    70:?? Murph is pretty long when you start breaking down push ups in the 2nd round!

    Thank you everyone for encouragement during the WOD and on the blog, and wanting to run me in on the last 400. I appreciated it so much, I just needed to be in my own misery!

    Kandi, you’re always a pleasure to wod next too! You don’t know how calming it was to have you next to me as we chipped away and away and away.

    • And I forgot to say great job everyone who showed up. I chickened out the last time it came up, and I think anyone on “the outs” would look at this and say it’s impossible!

    • Thanks Andrea, the feeling is mutual πŸ™‚

  12. Rx’d: 53:48

Leave a Reply

