Primal Mocha

Here’s one thing I’m obsessed with this week (and for once it’s not Elana, I hope she doesn’t miss me):
It’s so rich and tasty it’s a great alternative to the regular version of my old favorite drink. I ran across this recipe on Health-Bent and have toyed with the amounts of ingredients until my taste buds sang. To get yours to sing you may have to fiddle around with the amounts, or this may be perfect for you the way it is.

1/2 can coconut milk
1 tablespoon cocoa powder
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
2 cups fresh brewed coffee
pinch or 2 salt (try tasting it before you put salt in, its crazy how the salt works in this recipe)

Pour all the ingredients in a saucepan on the stove. The coconut milk will appear curdled, trust me, it turns out fine. Whisk all the ingredients together, bring to a light boil, serve.

Since there’s no sugar in this drink it may appear a little yucky. However, just be cool and take a few more sips, your tastbuds will get used to it. If, you just can’t handle it, add more coconut milk– I made a batch with less milk and it was almost too bitter. The funny thing with this drink is that I want to want it all day long, but it’s so filling I can only take it once a day, believe me I’ve tried more.

Congrats on everyone who made the brownies this week! I’ve had tons of CFSers tell me they’ve made them– way to go! It’s nice to have a recipe like that that you can take to a function where there’s nothing but sugary grainy foods at your fingertips. Though it’s a carb bomb it’s a nice alternative to the original.

Glenn- what is this I’ve been hearing about your jerky? I thought we were BFFs…..
Drink well, Friends!
AnnieS

7 Responses

  1. Kevan’s Jerky actually, my neighbor has this thing for cooking. Some people build hot rods, ride Harley’s this guy smokes meat and brews beer. Did I hit the neighbor lottery or what? I have some spicy Tex Mex flavor with your name on it. It will be at CFS next week.

    I wonder what John, Ryan and Jeff think of the meaty goodness I dropped off? Kevan needs honest feedback.

    • The NW flavor jerky was the bomb! I have been meaning to tell you that and also to ask you for another bag if there is some more available.

  2. I have heard good things about this beverage from a friend who tried it today after seeing this post.
    JV

  3. Hmm…primal…mostly ingrediants that I can pick up at Fred Meyer..chocolate & coffee flavored…I need to try this one.

    • You should, I crave it everyday now. Easily found ingredients are good, I’ve had some that’s taken me all week to find. Then I ended up ordering online. Today I’m going to an asian market to see if coconut milk is less expensive, I seem to be going through it like its going out of style!

  4. These primal mochas are delicious and quite satisfying. I find that it suits my taste perfectly to add a little maple syrup to sweeten it just slightly.

Leave a Reply

