Smoothies

Smoothies were brought up a lot once we heard about the Vale Family blender of all blenders. I tried a few myself, here’s a few I really like. The base is from The Paleo Diet Cookbook.

Base
8 oz brewed, chilled herbal tea of your choice
1 scoop plain egg white protein powder (after searching about 5 stores, I finally ran across this on the internet and had to buy it. Every powder I found around us had stevia added to it, which I’m not really interested in)
1 tbs ground flaxseed
1 tbs almond or walnut butter
1/2 cup crushed ice

Blend everything together and enjoy!

Here’s a couple of versions to jazz up the base:
Banana Blast
1 banana
1/4 tsp nutmeg

Peanut Butter Chocolate
1 banana (or something to sweeten it)
2 tbs almond butter
1 tbs cocoa powder
1 tbs chia seeds* (as in the pet. This is another ingredient I searched for weeks for but finally found it when I realized I was searching for the wrong thing– I was looking for chai seeds instead of chia. Duh!)

CV’s Smoothie
1 banana
1/2 bag of baby spinach
about a cup of frozen blueberries
about 1-2 Tbs. coconut oil
about 6 frozen strawberries
and enough raw milk to make it smoothy-ish

I love the fact that she’s throwing in coconut oil, I may try that in my recipes too!

*Chia seeds: really interesting. Chia seeds are from the Aztec days and are were known as the running food, apparently it was regarded as a high endurance energy food. Even the Indians of the southwest would eat 1 teaspoon of seeds on forced 24 hour marches. Why does it matter to us? Apparently it’s really high in Omega 3s, more so than any other seeds including sesame, pumpkin, and even flax. In fact, Central Market pushed this on me, so I was believing it. Until, I read this article explaining they are high, however, our bodies can’t convert ALA (the important part of Omega 3 fatty acids) into DHA/EPA, so much of its benefits are actually wasted. Darn, I was tricked by clever marketing again. Mark Sission says it fits into the primal world, so eat it if you want to. If you do, I found it in the bulk section at Central Market.

Eat well, Friends!
AnnieS

13 Responses

  1. I SO want to try the peanut butter chocolate one…is it good?……yum!

    Mags

    P.S. Shawn, you did awesome at the rugby game…..that was so cool!

  2. It’s good, Mags!

  3. DU Club: I have failed miserably today. Couldn’t get 7, my at-home rope is ghetto.

    • Andrea, I understand completely! I was wondering how long I had to jump and how many whipping marks I needed on my arms before I could stop for the day. I was almost ready to stop trying, but I finally got 7. I really think this is a mental thing! Don’t feel bad, you will get it tomorrow!

    • Don’t worry! That’s why I set up the challenge at the pace I did, so we don’t get behind with a missed day. CrossFit’s taught me patience!

      And you definitely aren’t alone on the off days. Friday I grabbed the rope, bang, done. Yesterday/Today: took 5-10 attempts before I got 2 in a row, then it rolled out.

      Day 13:7xDU Check. Great job Betty!

      Great job Matt on the climb. Heck of machine like work, 47.7lbs is no joke.

  4. 69 floors, 1311 steps, 47.7 pounds worth of gear..17:44 Rx’d.

    Brad, looks like I owe you 20 burpee pull ups….I wanna be like you when I grow up!
    Jeff, I feel like I let you down…. but…it was a 2 min PR.

    I cannot thank everybody enough for all the support and donations!!! You all are amazing!!!! Thank you so much!!!

    Shawn, I really wanna come watch you play Rugby. Sounds like it was a great time. Nice work!

    • Nice work Matt! I drive by that building all the time and cant imagine running up it in 17:44 much less with 50 pounds of gear strapped on. You did an awesome job for a great cause.

    • Congrats on the PR Matt!

    • Outstanding work today Matt! I’m not fit to wear your boots. Don’t worry about the burpee pull ups, you did enough already today.

    • Let me down?!?! Yeah right. We all couldn’t be more proud and a 10% improvement in fitness in a single modality “wod” is crazy! Imagine trying to shave 10% off of a 5k time in a year. You did awesome.
      JV

  5. My smoothie recipe. Its not paleo but I have a reason for every ingredient. I’ve had been very focused on my diet and what works for me for over ten years now and I have been making a morning smoothie for about 8 of them.

    Recipe makes 2 servings (Lauren and I split it)

    1 to 1.5 cups water
    .5 to 1 cup milk, or soy, or rice (depends on the week for me)
    1 tbsp-ish fresh local honey
    1 scoop of chocolate whey protein (brand depends on month, about 20g typically)
    1tbsp cacao
    2-3 tbsp chopped coconut
    1tbsp brewers yeast
    2tbsp almond butter or peanut butter (i prefer peanut, lauren prefers almond)
    1 tsp spirulina powder
    2 tbsp soy protein powder (about 15-20 grams brand depends on month)
    2 tbsp fresh ground flax seed (flax meal goes bad quick if not sealed or refrigerator)
    2 tbsp fresh ground unhulled hemp seed
    1/2 tsp turmeric (anti-inflammatory properties)
    dash of cinnamon (too much will overpower quick)
    1 banana
    big handful frozen blueberries or strawberries
    3-5 ice cubes depending on how cold you like it

    sub berries for 1tbsp ground coffee (makes it more rich and gives a little caffeine

    I’m probably forgetting something I kind of do this by rote memory at this point. I try and get a wide blend of different proteins as they all have their own benefits. The flax seed is more valuable to women than men as men cannot uptake the shorter chain omega 3’s in flax that women can. Hemp has a ton of protein and omega 3’s as well. Cinnamon has fat burning properties and can also be beneficial for inflammation. Coconut has good medium chain saturated fats which are not the same as meat saturated fats.

Leave a Reply

