March 16th, 2011

Let the Games Begin!

CrossFit’s sanctioned competitive season is now officially underway! At about 11:30 PM on March 15th they posted the first WOD of the Open Sectional. If you are planning on registering and submitting a time for these WODs you need to email me so I have you down. So far I have John, Ryan, Brandie, Shawn, Devin and Matt on my list of CFSers who want try and do as many of the WODs as Rxed and post times to see where they fall on the global and regional scene! I am going to try and include as many of the WODs as our WOD in the gym over the next 6 weeks. I may not fit all of them in. In this case  I will make sure our competitive athletes get a chance to do them with a judge. Below is the first WOD. It will be our class workout.

Complete as many rounds and reps as possible in 10 minutes of:
30 Double-unders
15 Power snatches

Post rounds completed to comments.

The Power snatch loads are as follows:
Men and Masters Men 45-49, 50-54: 75lbs/35kg
Women and Masters Women 45-54: 55lbs/25kg
Masters Men 55-59, 60+: 65lbs/30kg
Masters Women 55-59, 60+: 45lbs/20kg

11 Responses

  1. JV,

    I would like to attempt the workouts as well. Please add my name to the list.

  2. Jeff-I would like to compete too. Please add my name. I will not be back until Sunday night. Do I have until Monday to do the WOD?

    • I think you do have until Monday.

      They had a technical glitch with the CF Games website on Tuesday, and the posting of the WOD was delayed by 5-6 hours. As a result, I think this first week they are allowing everyone until Monday to do the WOD and post their time. From then on it will need to be by Sunday at 5 PM.

  3. Tom and Ben: Great to hear you’re going to give it a go! Whatever the result, there’s defniitely an experience had with giving a single workout your absolute best, both physically and mentally.

    Took my wack at the WOD today, while I didn’t make my pre-goal, I’m pretty darn happy as I was gassed afterwards and it wasn’t just a battle of DU technique.
    4 rounds + DU + 5 Snatches

    DU Day 18: DUx9–most definitely done!
    If I have it right the double under challengers are now: Me, Ben, Betty, Dawn, Matt and Andrea on healing haitus to rejoin us at an offset when the shins are ready. They will come!

    • I’ve had a chance to watch a lot of the competitors, great huge efforts by them all! Very proud. Since he’s usually too modest/lazy/shy to post I just wanted give big props to Ryan who cranked out 6+11snatches. Great concentration to just methodically make it through.

      Thanks Jeff for putting in the extra time so we can be a part of this!

    • Nice work today Shawn. Your double-unders look so much better since you started your cult.

  4. 4 rounds + 14 double-unders Rx’d

    Have not done any double-unders for about 5 weeks because of some sprain/soft tissue thing in my foot. So I was pretty happy to be able to do any at all.

    Amazing how hard the snatches get when you are really working the double-unders hard just to get a few at a time.

  5. 6 plus rounds is awesome. On the main site, I think Jason Khalipa got 7 + rounds and I think he has won the entire competition before.

  6. Nice work CFS-ers!

  7. 4 rounds plus 30 DU’s and 2 snatches. Round 2 couldn’t possibly have been more of a wall.

  8. 4 rounds even for me, hurt my elbow, bummer

Leave a Reply

