July 26th, 2011

Nutrition Class August 27th

On Saturday, August 27th from 10 AM to noon we will be having a long overdue nutrition class. Nutrition is more important than exercise when it comes toย  your health, and physical appearance. If these are important to you and you have not attended a nutrition class at CFS this event needs to be on your calendar. Be there. Without proper nutrition you are only getting a portion of the CFS lifestyle that is so life changing. Don’t miss out on the rest of the package.

CFS veterans who have changed their diet to a “real foods” lifestyle it is your turn to chime in. Post comments regarding nutrition and the personal impact it has had on your life to give some of our newer folks an idea of what is in store for them.

2010 Northwest Regional Event 1

Three rounds for time of:
135 pound Overhead squat, 10 reps
50 Double-unders

Post time to comments.

14 Responses

  1. 9:20 – scaled ( sub 100 single unders for 50 DU)

    • Nutrition has been a big part of my CFS success, I think. I started CFS in Sept 2010 @ 225lbs (I was up to 239 the fall before). I did exercise regularly(ish) at a local gym, but without direction. Over the summer I had fallen off some, and was not too concerned with my eating (did try Paleo for one month with my wife and some friends as a challenge…not too bad).

      I now am hovering @ 207lbs (and that is a net weight because I have increased muscle mass quite a bit since dropping the weight). My goal is to get to 200lbs (which is what I imaging will feel like a perfect weight for my activity & size)…and will continue to chip away at it this year. I will modify my goal based on “feel”, not a number.

      On January 4th, I began my conversion over to the Primal/Paleo eating lifestyle. First month I took out all grains. In mid Feb I took out Legumes. March I took out Dairy. Somewhere along the way I tried to take out poattoes…but that has never fully stuck ๐Ÿ™‚ During this time I felt my energy levels changing…and started to pickup better PR’s. I also really tried to get 7 hours sleep (8 is a dream…not often achieved due to the 5:30 darklifting start time).

      I have tried (and sometimes struggled) at the Paleo Fitness guide: Eat meat and vegetables, nuts and seeds, some fruit, little starch and NO sugar. Keep intake to levels that will support exercise but not body fat.
      Sugar is a struggle (I think i’m winning)…and I have reintroduced some Dairy, but very little.

      This is a journey…and as one I wil keep tweeking. I have started & stopped the LOW CARB part two or three times to shave a little more weight. And I will try again. I feel amazing…am gaining power in my workouts…and believe at 39 (teetering on 40) that I am in the best shape of my life! I think it makes me a better Me, a better husband, and a better father.

      All this before my 1st anniversary ๐Ÿ™‚ …can’t wait for what’s next!

  2. 6:47 Rx’d
    the more I learn to push myself harder during short workouts the more I am coming to appreciate them. Back in the beginning I mentally understood and agreed that short duration high intensity was productive, but admit I didn’t always look forward to them because I wanted “more.” But as I’m pushing harder, I Really appreciate them, look forward to them and leave the CFS feeling accomplished. I’ll always prefer long slogfests but I now look forward to short wod’s as a chance to test myself. (though I wouldn’t doubt some more veteran people sometimes underappreciate the longer wod’s ๐Ÿ˜‰ )

    Jeff: done your 1-10-1-20-1-30 Front Squats yet? ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. 10:34, 75lbs OHS

  4. Oh, and I’m in for the nutrition class. I need some serious help with the nutrition part.

  5. Once I started reading labels i was shocked at what I was fueling my body with. While with JV one day at Starbucks I reached for one of those little bottles (4oz) of Green Super Food, he suggested I read the label, it contained about 45g of carbs! While traveling I would frequently have an 8oz bottle of the stuff and a bagel for breakfast. Not good when you are trying to limit your Carb intake to about 80g a day (or less)

    While I have yet to achieved my fitness goals eating real food and trying to limit my undisciplined nutritional intake has helped me progress towards them.

    I have also discovered that Sleep is very important to my “Fitness Trifecta” (CF-Nutrition-Sleep) When i start slipping in one of these areas my performance suffers. while on the road i prioritize sleep and nutrition over hitting the gym at the hotel.

  6. 7:28 w/ 115lb OHS

  7. 15:?? I was too tired to check my time at the end, but Wendy suggested it was actually 7:27. ๐Ÿ™‚
    70# OHS, I bow down to everyone with their DUs, such an amazing skill to have!

    Nutrition: eating real foods has put some meat on my bones and made me stronger. Lifting with the pvc pipe is cool, but lifting with weights is cooler! On June 1, 2010 I showed up with grains running through my veins. I did my favorite hero wod, Michael, and felt like I was running through mud the entire wod. I felt like I had no energy, like there was no fire in the engine. I learned my lesson and haven’t done that since, I don’t think.

  8. Going “Primal” was the best thing that I have ever done for my nutrition. I thought that I was in decent shape when Brooke and I came in to the gym in June of 09′. I started to eat “Primal” in January of 2010 and have never looked back. Fueling your body is more important than fueling your car. What you put in is what you are going to put out. If you want your fitness in the gym to explode than I challenge you to come to the nurtrition class and try eating the way Jeff will suggest. You may be the only person amongst your friends or coworkers who is losing weight during the holidays!!! Let me know if you have any questions or anything that I can help you with between now and then. The best thing you can do to help yourself out before the class is to start writing what you are eating throughout the day. This will come in very handy for the class. See you all in the gym soon!!!

  9. Well said cfs vets! I couldn’t have said it better myself. Thanks guys.

Leave a Reply

