August 23rd, 2011

U.S. Air Force Senior Airman Bradley R. Smith, 24, of Troy, Illinois, assigned to the 10th Air Support Operations Squadron, based in Fort Riley, Kansas, was killed on January 3, 2010, by an improvised explosive device in Zhari district, Kandahar Province, Afghanistan. He is survived by his wife Tiffany, daughter Chloe, parents Gary and Paula, and brother Ryan.

Bradley

10 rounds for time of:
Sprint 100 meters
10 Pull-ups
Sprint 100 meters
10 Burpees
Rest 30 seconds

Post time to comments.

23 Responses

  1. 33:12 rx’d ugh! I wanted to stop at 8 rounds but then decided I would do 9. When I realized there is only 1 left and I could see the finish, there was no reason to quit. Thanks 530 for the encouragement to get through it. 🙂

  2. Bradley is one tough dude! I did 7 rounds in 25:35. Those 30sec. rests seem to get shorter. I could manage the short distance runs although they got slower and more tiring. Pullups were strong to start and I added in more breaks as I went. Doing that many pullups gives me hope I can graduate to less of a band in the future for lighter reps. Burpees were the killer for me. I think I was a little slow to start and man did those take all I had to finish the last few rounds. My arms were tired & my jump wasn’t so high at the end. I’m glad the short break was after those.

    Chris, Shawn, Tom…you boys rocked it as always! Love the 5:30 group and all the people pushing you through. You all did great!

  3. 27:05 Rx’d
    As Jeff would describe, this is the classic type of CrossFit pain that made CrossFit popular, awesome and so effective. Though the last 3 rounds were painful, oiy! Very happy with “staying uncomfortable” and the push through it.

    It felt like the darklifters were “on their game” today. Everyone appeared willing to push into uncomfortableness and try to stay there. And congrats to Chris for a big improvement to Rx this.

    • I’m thinking, that after today, I may have to not let you pick on Jim anymore about the gloves. My hands are jacked! I want some. 😦

  4. 30:27, tore around round 7 and decided to not wreck my hands, so I switched to pushups. Live to workout another day!

    Thanks for the comments Shelly!

    5:30 class pushed through in fine style this morning.

    • No shame in changing mid-wod! I’ve done that. You did a great job of taking your sub and getting the most out of it which is the more essential part. You finished at a good effort/pace.

  5. Nice work 5:30 AM crew. Ryan and I did this WOD yesterday (we ran a 5k the day before). I am sure he would agree with me that while our gym has done some very tough WODs, this is one of the mentally toughest WODs we have done in awhile. 30 seconds rest are just plain mean.

    • I also wanted to share this post I found on the main site (when they posted this hero WOD). It is nice to know that these hero WODs and remembering the fallen really mean something to the families of our countries heroes.

      Brad would be proud of you all.. he loved to make the guys sweat… he’d come home and tell me that the guys would be pissed off at him after he led pt and he’d love it when they hated it! Thanks for remembering my hero today!
      -Brad’s Wife,
      Tiffany
      Comment #180 – Posted by: Tiffany Smith at August 17, 2011 5:36 PM

  6. Good words John. I definitely appreciate the Hero’s but don’t say it enough. I am fortunate that none of the military or police I know have even been injured, but I appreciate the sacrifice they are at least risking, especially in a sometimes ambiguious/difficult world.

    I love that it puts into Correct perspective our typical daily trials. So that when I’m stressed about what to do at work, frustrated with coworker, my progress, my accomplishments or lack thereof, being tired after work/crossfit/life…. None of it’s to cry over, because as my dad would say, “no one’s dying.” Not that everything’s easy (no one promised it would be 😉 ) but I’m fortunate to live relatively safely, have a great “pack”, and make enough money to eat, get shelter and go off on the occasional adventure. Thank you Bradley and all fallen Hero’s. I will try to never complain (at least in a serious whiney way 🙂 ) because we have it pretty darn good!

  7. Cheek Vacation WOD #2

    Brad – 50 Picnic Table jumps (31 inch). Then, 5 rounds of 10 Tree HSPU (1abmat), 100m Farmers walk with 6 gallon water jugs, 25 burpees, 25 box jumps (18 inch). 39.17

    Betty – run 5k – my first ever! 37.11 (Kris you ran without me, so I had to run without you too.)

    • Way to use the elements. That’s awesome!

    • Nice job – I’m proud of you…my time was about the same as yours with the running and rowing yesterday – I should probably cut a minute out of that due to a bathroom break – didn’t push too hard and walked some but was happy that I did it.

    • Am I wrong here, or did Brad bring an abmat on vacation. That is awesome!!

      Great job being resourceful with grabbing odd objects to use for weights. 2 of the best WODs I did all summer involved a 5 gallons fuel jug that I used for a waiter’s walk and a big rock that I used for cleans. Who needs weights?

    • I love your vacation WODS!!

    • Hope you guys are having a terrific time! Love your Vacation WODs! Maybe it’ll motivate us on our next outing…. What do you do when you go to a Coug football game?

  8. Madness on the comments today! I love it. Good hero gratitude (John, Shawn), huge milestones (Chris’ rx’d 100 pull ups, Betty first ever 5k), creativity (Brad’s wod), community support (Everyone), good WOD break down for those doing it in the afternoon (Shelly). Also, I am not sure if he will post it or not, but Joey rx’d this wod in under 30 minutes (serious athleticism to do that at 15 years old) and Wendy ( joey’s mom rx’d yesterday for her first rx ever). Great job everyone.
    JV

  9. 36:56 rx’d. I’m not sure why I’m always so slow, that’s kind of annoying.

    I could have been hyperventilating, but I swear Joey said he didn’t even break up any of his pull ups. He got under 30 mins and he even had to stop and tape up his hands. Incredible!

    Those Vale girls killed it too! JoJo was even out there dancing on her runs!

    Way to get it done 9:15!

  10. Chelan WOD

    Since I haven’t set foot in CFS this month I thought I should do a couple of wods on vacation. Today:

    5 rounds for time of 20 kbs 1.5pood 15 pushups.

    13:55

  11. First time doing multiple kipping pull ups without a band, though far from RXing… Thanks Jeff for the push! Happy with my scaled workout and time: 28:40. PS: I get nervous reading the blog before the 5:15 class, especially today. Either have to quite reading it, or get moving in the morning!

  12. 33:30 Rx’d – and happy I made it though! Great job everyone on the wod!

  13. I converted this to a swimming WOD:

    50-yd sprint
    10 burpees
    50-yd sprint
    10 in water muscle ups onto the handles of a diving block
    30 sec rest

    29:55

    The only thing out of the water was burpees, so this was super anaerobic–but fun.

Leave a Reply

