August 24th, 2011

Brad and Betty..Road Warriors

Below is a comment from yesterday’s comments section…

“Cheek Vacation WOD #2

Brad – 50 Picnic Table jumps (31 inch). Then, 5 rounds of 10 Tree HSPU (1abmat), 100m Farmers walk with 6 gallon water jugs, 25 burpees, 25 box jumps (18 inch). 39.17

Betty – run 5k – my first ever! 37.11 (Kris you ran without me, so I had to run without you too.)”

Nice work you two. Great creativity and motivation.

“Isabel”

For time:
Snatch 135 pounds, 30 reps

Use 95 pounds, 65 pounds or broomstick as needed.
Post time and load to comments.

Compare to here.

For video of two wildly different renditions of this WOD check out this blog post. I bet you know which one I want yours to look more like.

Below is another great demo of this WOD.

WOD Demo with Kristan Clever and Rebecca Voigt by Again Faster Equipment – video [wmv] [mov]

18 Responses

  1. Great videos! Nice Isabel, J-ro!

  2. Per the Crossfitmom site I am advanced :o)

    “Baby Bradley”

    Advanced

    5 rounds

    100m run/row

    10 pull ups

    100m run/row

    10 burpees

    I don’t feel so bad about only doing 6 rounds now :o)

    • You should be “Advanced + a heart or star” (but I don’t know how to do those symbols. Are you going to start following that site? Nice job on 6!!

      • It is good for subbing things when your belly gets in the way. I think that is what I will look at the most (Charity is a great source as well). Most of it seems too easy – maybe that is because I’m not huge yet. We will see, I may be biting my tongue on that one.
        It is hard sometimes because I feel like a wuss, but I have to remember that there is a little one there too.

  3. 4:49 with 37lbs
    This was my first real go at doing the snatch so I’m good with that. It really helps when Jeff helps me with what weight to use, I try to push myself a little each time. I probably could have gone a little heavier because I did 3 at the end so I could have gone to a point where I had to break after each one at the end. Its all good though because I was able to focus on getting the movement down. I think this type of workout was great for that since the movement is new to me, hopefully it is ingrained in my head a little now.

  4. Rx’d: 8:00

    This is the first time I’ve rx’d this workout. I got the first 8 or so in the first minute, but slowed down a bunch after that. Interestingly, even at the slower pace it was all about not being able to catch my breath. The weight felt good.

  5. 4:01 Rx’d
    Picked a goal pace and really happy with my efforts to keep it. Bullied right on through it, maybe a little faster next time. I was not impressed with my form though. Landings felt “loose” and inconsistent. Just more to improve! 😉

    • Love the Cheeks vacation WODs! Not easy either. He DID bring his abmat, no wonder he’s so fast on sit ups!

  6. 2:33 Rx’d

    Had the pleasure of being coached by Jeff today. It helped a lot! When you coach others yourself, you take for granted forget how much a few on target tips and cues help you out and re-focus your technique. Really felt like Jeff’s comments saved me about 30 to 60 seconds on this WOD. The bar just flew up through the second pull and my foot work felt a lot more solid than it normally does on high volume snatches.

    Thanks Jeff!

  7. My coaching aside…John absolutely destroyed this WOD. Crazy!

    Casey Nice rx!

    Lots of good snatch work in the gym today. Makin’ me proud!
    JV

  8. 7:43 scaled

    1st 4 reps at 125# (don’t think I’m ready for that much yet)
    Last 26 at 115#, gave me a chance to work on footwork more. I felt like technique got better as I went along.
    Word of the day is “technique”!

    Sorry darklifters, cheated on you today. 🙂

  9. 5:58, 85#

    The olympic lifts always baffle me. I think too much about the steps and nothing’s exactly automatic yet. However…I feel I got some good snatches in today, mixed in with some pretty bad ones too. Thanks Jeff for urging me to go heavier.

    And hey…I guess I’m officially not a lurker anymore huh?

  10. Yay, Dwayne on the comments!!! The whole 5:15 class along with Dwayne really looked good today.
    JV

  11. It was great to see everyone in the 5:15 class and get in a good workout in at the place where my addiction to crossfit started.

    I went with 110 for 7+ minutes (cant remember exactly) and focused on my form, especially when I was getting tired out in the end.

    Craig

Leave a Reply

