Pumpkin Muffins

You know fall is here when Starbuck’s releases their Pumpkin Spice Lattes.  Though it sounds amazing, you won’t catch me drinking their syrup.  So, we find ourselves turning to other real foods pumpkiny favorites to take its place.  You won’t believe how surprisingly moist they are for how tight the batter is, which is shocking considering how coconut flour dries anything out!  These little guys were inspired by Bruce Fife’s “Cooking with Coconut Flour” cookbook (one of my faves).

6 pastured eggs (thank you, Cheeks)

4 tbs pastured butter, melted

1/2 cup organic canned pumpkin

1/4 cup maple syrup

1 1/2 tsp. pumpkin pie spice

1/2 tsp salt

1 tsp vanilla

1/2 cup coconut flour

1/2 tsp baking powder

Blend all ingredients together, whisk extra long until clumps are gone.  Bake at 400 degrees until done.  Makes about 26 mini muffins.

My hints:  When using quality ingredients I always make smaller little muffins.  For one, portion sizes are a lot smaller.  Second, it looks like you’ve actually made a lot of these little guys.  Lastly, when I tell my kids they can have one muffin we actually have muffins for days!  I also poured this batter into my doughnut pan and made pumpkin doughnuts out of it.  Cute!

Here’s some past pumpkin favorite recipes we’ve blogged about.  Totally worth the revisit:

Pumpkin Bread, Chicken Pumpkin Patch Soup (delicious, we’re putting this back on the rotation), Pumpkin Ice Cream

Eat well, Friends,

AnnieS

6 Responses

  1. I just made these last night. How random. Two great minds think alike! Only, I put some yummy dark chocolate chips in them. They’re going pretty fast around here. I need to invest in some mini muffin pans so I can keep ’em around a little longer!
    -CV

  2. Where can I get some mini-muffin pans?

  3. These look Yummy.

Leave a Reply

