November 1st, 2011

Cold Season Part 3: Tips, Tricks and Tactics

Last installment we talked about lifestyle changes we can make this season to get more sleep, reduce stress, get our WODs in and eat better. Today we are going to look at what we can do to further strengthen our immune systems and make cold season more enjoyable. There are some specific things you can do to help fight off viruses and infections. I am not going to go into all the details of each, so click on some of the links and further educate yourself. My favorite aspect of each of these options is that they are safe, cheap and easy to do.

First up, contrast therapy. This is the practice of changing your shower water from really hot to really cold. Put the water as hot as you can handle for a couple of minutes and then immediately change it to as cold as it will go for 30 seconds to a minute. Repeat this process 3 times. This is most easily tolerated for me right after a hard WOD when I am all heated up. This practice increases blood flow to your tissues delivering vital nutrients and flushing toxins aiding in healing from sickness and workout damage, and reduces inflammation.

Next, consume lots of bone broths. That’s right, Grandma knew what she was talking about. Bone broths are rich in nutrients that are crucial not only for general health, but also specifically aid in healing from and preventing sickness.

Finally, another immune booster is probiotics (this link is to Coach Ryan’s Masters paper on Probiotics-a must read). You have over 500 billion bacteria living in your gut. Most of them are beneficial and make up the basis for your immune system. The more you have the better. The more recently you have been on antibiotics then less positive bacteria you have and the more prone to sickness you are. Taking probiotics in a variety of forms will aid in the proliferation of these immune boosting bacteria. You can buy probiotics in capsule form from most drug stores or natural food stores. Unfortunately, in this manner you get what you pay for, so don’t go cheap. You can also get probiotics and crucial antioxidants from drinking Kombucha, which is cheap and easy to make. You can also get some probiotics by consuming high quality yogurt (preferably homemade with grass-fed raw milk). Another great source of good bacteria is Kevita (brought to my attention by Ryan). This is a beverage similar to Kombucha that can be purchased at places like Central Market and the Sno-Isle Food Coop.

“Tabata Fight Gone Bad”

Complete 40 intervals of 20 seconds of work followed by ten seconds of rest. Perform 8 consecutive intervals of each of the following exercises:

Wall-ball 20 pound ball, 10 ft target. (Reps)
Sumo deadlift high-pull 75 pounds (Reps)
Box Jump 20″ box (Reps)
Push-press 75 pounds (Reps)
Row (Calories)

There is no additional rest between exercises.

Each exercise is scored by the weakest number of reps (calories on the rower) in each of the eight intervals. The score is the total of the scores from the five stations.

Post score to comments.

19 Responses

  1. Today’s my last CrossFit day pre-surgery so Jeff was generous enough to let me do a wod I call Rugby, so I can set a goal for one year from now. thanks Jeff!
    6 rounds + DLs + 1 burpee box jump
    30min AMRAP
    5 Deadlift 295lbs
    5 Knee to Elbows
    5 Squat Clean Thrusters 135lbs
    5 Kettlebell Swing 2pood
    w/ 3 Burpee Box Jump+20m Shuttle Run before each set of 5reps

    • I wondered what all you were doing – you are a masochist! I’ll be praying for a speedy recovery.

    • Shawn also came back and did Fran during the 9:15 class and PR’d by 30 seconds with a time of 4:26! Pretty awesome considering he destroyed himself during the 5:30 class.

      Just to make it clear, the reason that Shawn is getting special treatment and was able to pick his workout(s) today is because he is going in on Thursday morning for surgery to have his PCL replaced.

      Good luck Shawn! I am sure the surgery will go great. Looking forward to seeing you back in the gym as soon as you are ready and we will always figure out a way to modify the WOD so you can get in a good workout.

    • Thanks John, much appreciated.
      I did come in for the last class to do the day’s WOD
      Tabata FGB: 41 (SDHP10,BJ6,PP12,Row6,WB7)
      Great twist on a classic. Fun. Fun class with lots of barbells flying around.

      • I liked that as I walked in at 5:15 Andrea just stared at me

      • I was thinking…who is that ninja in all black with buffed out legs, that can’t be Shawn….wait it is….

  2. TFGB: 36 rx’d

  3. Still rehabbing the elbow so only did the WBS, Box jumps and Push Presses (RX’ed) T-Modified FGB: 16

    I went Trick or Treating with the girls last night and when I got to the meat neighbors house he gave me a 3 pound bag of Meat! Jerky and pepperoni sticks! I had to tell a group that would appreciate it.

  4. 24 , almost rx’d: went down 10# on the push press (I was almost dead even at that) some okay many of the WBs were on the board. Good mix of leg to arm exercise. I enjoyed this, like so many of these I’d like to repeat to gauge progress every 6 months or so.

  5. TFGB: 38 Rx’d

    Good luck with the surgery Shawn! That wod you did this morning looks insane…. Can’t wait to try it. I’ll be lucky to get through 1 round in 30 min. Nice work on Fran today!! I was getting tired watching you out of the corner of my eye. See you soon buddy.

  6. 34 Rx

    Big 5:15 class – Lots of work being done! Only thing harder then FGB is Tabata FGB!!! Cannot lie…loved it!

    I know this is going to hard to believe…but Shawn showed for his 3rd class of the day!!! Quite a send off for knee surgery…in true animal CF fashion.

    Take care Shawn during your recovery…we look forward to having you back.

  7. I just wanted to take a moment to say thanks to the coaches and the excellent CFS community. Thanks for humoring me with my pre-cabin fever as I get every last rep in. I’ve got a great life and know my knee is the least of a tough life, but struggled with the decision, nervousness about how it’s going to end up and not wanting to give up playtime. I know I’ve talked about my knee dilema too much, repeated myself, talked out the same decisions over, and the second guessing. Thanks for chatting it up and talking it through. Everyone has been incredibly supportive and heck, just always a good time with good people. The people at CFS are just top notch!

    I look forward to hanging out with some highly modded wod’s, and perfect the slow strict pull up and ring dip. 🙂 It really is something to look forward to during the rehab process!

    Bring on the zombie parts!

    • You’re good people too Shawn, wish you a speedy recovery. Hopefully by next summer – we made plans to go climbing right? Take care.

      26
      (Rx’d all but getting the 20# ball over the wood)

      First time with a 20# ball, so feel good about that. PP’s were the killer for me; however, the 20″ box jumps were a pleasant surprise.

    • Dude, You’re amazing!! In every aspect! Some days I wish I was a “darklifter”… or not… just so I could workout with you. Nice work today!! Goodluck, and hurry back!

  8. 28 rxd. went too easy on sdlhp and too hard on the pp. Will game it better next time. Nice work Brandie and Andrea!

    Shawn- Good luck on Thursday with PCL surgery. I’ll pray for a speedy recovery for your new knee. I’m sure you’ll be back in the gym in no time doing some type of scaled/newly invented WOD. The coaches are experts at scaling during rehab! Good luck!

  9. 30 rx’d

    I never enjoy FGB, but when it’s a tabata, I kinda liked it!

  10. Nice paper, Ryan. I’ve been thinking alot about probiotics lately and this was a great resource! You go with your academic self!

Leave a Reply

