January 7th, 2012

Today’s schedule:
8 – 9 AM:  CF 101
9 – 10 AM: Group training (WOD below)
10 – 11 AM: Yoga

I read a great article on the CrossFit Journal and wanted to share it with everybody.  What I love about this article, written by the coach of the team that won the 2011 CF Games team competition, is that the mindset the coach writes about is applicable to any athlete, even if they never desire to compete anywhere besides in the gym and only against themselves.  I think it can also be very applicable to how someone approaches their everyday life.  I don’t want to give away too much of the main idea of the article before you have a chance to read it for yourself, so I will post my take away in the comments. 

Please read the article (it is short, only about 3 pages long) before you go on to read the comments section today.   Here is a link to the article (no subscription is required) : Think Like a Bumblebee, Train Like a Racehorse

Do you think like a bumblebee and train like a racehorse?  Please post your thoughts to comments.

5 rounds, each for time, of:
5 Chest to bar pull-ups
10 box jumps (24”/20”)
15 burpees

20 wall balls

**Take a 2 minute rest between rounds. **

This WOD is performed in intervals, but the clock keeps running throughout the WOD.  When you complete a round, note the time and then start your next round 2 minutes later. 

If a large group of people show up for class, the WOD can be done in a 2 person team format.  One team member would complete one full round and then rest until the 2nd team member completes a full round.  The team members would then alternate until both have completed all five rounds.  The score for the team would be the total time, but the individuals could and should each record their own 5 intervals times as well.

Post both your times for each round and your total time (all five interval times added together) to comments.

15 Responses

  1. I am for, ‘Think Like a Bumblebee, Train Like a Racehorse, becoming our new gym motto! Ben Bergeron says straight up in the article that he borrowed this from another coach, so why can’t we?

    Think like a bumble bee:
    I love this mindset! I had a pretty great workout on Friday, but when I sputtered during the workout it was because I let the ‘bad voices’ in my head tell me I that I couldn’t fly. Think how much better you could do on any WOD if you never thought about what you couldn’t do?

    Train like a race horse:
    He follows the workout he is given to the letter, he works as hard as he can at everything he does, does not care what anybody else’s time is on a workout and does not compare himself to other horses. The perfect mindset for any athlete in training. While we all have busy lives and other interests, wouldn’t it be great to ‘train like a race horse’ the handful of hours that we are in a gym and eat like a race horse (the way we know is best and healthiest for us) the rest of the week? PRs would fall like rain!

    And that makes me think of what may be a slightly more original gym motto (at least we would only be borrowing it from a guy who passed away 2000+ years ago).

    “Don’t think, just do.” – Horace (Roman poet who lived from 65 BC to 6 BC)

  2. I like the concept, I too frequently over think the tougher/longer WODs and view them as impossible. The assumtion of this article is that the athlete is physically able to do the requested workout. A lot of racehorses are ruined if the trainer mis-judges the horse’s condition! In our case the athlete and trainer must operate within a fine line for this to work. Ours are up to it if we are open (not whinners) and trust them.

    To ruin the “bumble bee” thing but we can explain it, it’s somewhat similar to a 2 wheeled bike, what keeps it up, the dynamic not static configuration (sorry). The bee moves smarter than a plane… hey maybe it is a good motto.

    The movie Gattaca is a motivator for me (not another sports flick).

    Sorry I can’t be there today. (wall balls and chest to bar – it’s impossible… 🙂

    • What a buzzz kill!

      True, science can now explain how the bumble flys.

      The key factor is the bumblebee overcoming its static aerodynamic design (a fancy way of saying ‘it is not built to glide’) and not ‘dynamic not static configuration’, which I think is an IP address or computer network thing? They beat their wings extremely fast compared to other insects and even birds (a humming bird beats its wings 50 times per second and a bumble does it 230 times per second) this hard work overcomes the poor physics of their body for flight.

      But the bumblebee, turning back to the point of the article, does not think about any of this or that it is doing anything remarkable. It just does it.

      P.S. I dig the Gattaca movie too! You are 100% on target with theme of that movie being very motivational.

  3. 25:58 MOD
    Started with rx’d movements on first round until I felt like I was gonna give myself a hernia in my abs.
    Swapped pullups for ring rows and box jumps for air squats since they were giving me the most trouble. Told myself I was only gonna do 3 rounds after the pain started but decided to tough it out and complete the work.

  4. 23:58
    5 kip pull ups
    30 one leg single unders
    15 ‘inch worm’ burpees
    20 sit ups w/ 20# wall ball
    messed up and did 3min rest after first round so did 1min rest after the second. Loved this wod. It felt like CFS was up a notch today, much sweat was being flung about and post-wod paralysis.
    Really enjoy being able to push the intensity again.

  5. Rx’d: 27:47

    Burpees…

  6. 26:23 rx’d

    Great sweaty WOD.

    As I was driving into class today I was thankful I didn’t really analyze the WOD. I knew it sounded harsh, but I didn’t memorize the rep schemes, or try to think about when I was going to take a breather. I was thankful when I showed up, I just did it and got through it. Shawn has kind of got me thinking that way, just do it then move on with the rest of your day.

    It feels so taxing to think about the WOD and stress about it before even doing it. Today I felt I conserved a bunch of negative energy by just going in and getting it done.

    I have found my best CF days are when I’m in my own mental space doing my own thing. It feels so much better to do your own thing and feel excited about it rather than judge your performance to others. Granted, it feels good to beat your husband by over a minute on a WOD 🙂 but that isn’t the point. We both walked in, pushed ourselves, and left excited by what we just accomplished. That’s the point!

  7. “Don’t think, just DO”

    My new mantra! Maybe this should be on the new CFS shirt?!?

  8. Great Workout today. It’s always more fun when the gym is packed!

    22:50 RX’d

    Thanks for posting that article Jeff. This is a very applicable motto. I can’t help but think about how this is almost more applicable outside the gym though…

    Imagine if we lived our daily lives like this… Imagine if we applied this way of thinking as parents, spouses and at our jobs? I am all for training as hard as I can when I’m at the gym. But what I do at the gym is not nearly the most important thing in my life.

    My most important priorities should be as follows: my relationship with Christ, my wife and children, my career, and then my physical health. A lot of times I get off track and forget that. If I look around at other Christians and other parents it’s easy to start comparing myself to them. Why cant I be as fun and cool as that other dad? Why does their marriage look so perfect? Why aren’t I a missionary in a 3rd world country?

    Those types of questions roll around in my head all the time, which is just stupid. The only thing I can control is myself. If I stop focusing on my weakness as a human being and have faith in God, and then myself I know the rest will take care of itself.

    I love Crossfit. To train hard like we do is such a good way to practice pushing ourselves farther then we think we’re capable of pushing. If we take our victories in the gym and apply that mind set in our daily lives, imagine where we would could go…

    “Do not pray for tasks equal to your powers;
    pray for powers equal to your tasks.”
    –Phillips Brooks

    • Totally agree with you. The comparison to others mind trap is an easy one to fall into in our everyday life. To own this mantra as an athlete would lead to lots of athletic succes, but if you could truely own it as a human being it could open the door to almost a whole new life.

    • Jimmy,
      John posted that article. I often have the same doubts in my life outside the gym. In that arena (your life as a christian) there is something called the 10 second rule. There is actually a book by the same title. I actually haven’t read it, because Charity is reading it right now, but I am familiar with the concept. The idea is to “In the next 10 seconds do what you are reasonably sure Christ wants you to do.” This allows us to live by His leading instinctively and avoiding a lot of the second guessing that often goes on in my life. There are obviously decisions that take time to make too, but this has been a powerful little tool in my life to help me live more like I should on a daily basis.

      JV

  9. John,
    Thanks for doing the post and coming up with the WOD. I like the article.

    I like the mind set of not over-thinking and not comparing. In my competitive CF career over the past few years I have had times where I have compared myself to other too much. All this does is cause me to go away from my game plan and try and do too much. You cannot and will never be able to be someone other than yourself. Ground breaking idea right? Should be obvious, but most competitive athletes spend a lot of time worrying about this. I tell my kids and myself that “All you can do is what you can do.” If you have a 350# deadlift then that is probably not going to change by more than a few pounds on game day. Trying to get a 400# deadlift in the last few weeks leading up to an event because one of your competitors can lift that only, leads to injury and frustration. I think this is the value of the “race horse concept.”

    The bumble bee thing I like too. I like not listening to the doubters. You must stay positive. I don’t want the “Bumble bee concept” to lead to people thinking they can do the impossible. I know that doing the impossible is one of those romantic, inspirational things to say and talk about, but I think that it leads to over training when we want a goal and we just decide we are going to will our way to it.There are some things that take more time and patience and there are some things that will never happen. I don’t think Ben (author of the article) or John P. are encouraging this type of thought process, but I think some people will read it that way. The point of the article when looking at the Bumble bee and Racehorse together is to ignore doubts and doubters (Bumblebee) and stick to your plan and trust that you are getting the most out of your body. Beyond that, the rest is going to take care of itself and you will end up being all that you are capable of being.

    Just my read. Great article. Good discussion.

    JV

  10. “I count him braver who overcomes his desires than him who conquers his enemies; for the hardest victory is the victory over self.”
    – Aristotle
    (posted on CF main site last week)

Leave a Reply

