Real Foods Mayo

There was a time I routinely made fun of Jeff Vale.  Not because he does weird things (I’m still not sure if we ever heard the meaning of this).  Not because he gave me this key to the gym.  Rather for his constant talk about mayo!  I’m not joking when I say there were days, maybe even weeks, where all we heard about was his homemade mayo…then turning it into Ranch Dressing.  You get the picture.  He’s blogged about it, I’ve blogged about his obsession but it seems the joke’s on this Coug!  This week I had a hankering for that yummy broccoli salad with bacon, mayo, and raisins.  You know the one in deli cases.  So I thought, why not give it a shot!  Thank goodness for my bible, The Primal Blueprint, it helped me figure it out.

1 pastured egg

2 tablespoons organic cider vinegar

1 teaspoon Dijon mustard

Dash of paprika

Pinch of sea salt

3/4 pure olive oil (EVOO will create a bitter taste if blended with an electric mixer)

Mix all the ingredients in a blender except for olive oil.  Once all ingredients are incorporated, start drizzling in olive oil until you’ve reached your desired consistency.  I’ve noticed the mayo does thicken as it cools.  Also, be sure to use this within a week.

Leave me comments on mayonnaise!  Love it, or hate it?

Eat well, Friends,

AnnieS

9 Responses

  1. Thanks a lot Annie, now your going to get him talking Mayo again! He has forgotten about it…until now!
    Your links were hilarious!
    -CV

  2. Thanks for the links, as a newbie to CFS, one link lead to another and it was fun seeing some of the “old timers” getting their muscle ups and kipping PUs and of course everyone looked awesome.

    Thanks for the mayo receipe – I just recently looked at what’s in the typical store bought jar – it went into the garbage quickly. This will give me some ideas when a food needs a lift that mayo can provide.

    • I know, the old videos are so fun to rewatch. The first one of Jeff doing the WOD makes me laugh so hard becasue Ryan and I are sitting on the wall like slugs. We just got done with our WOD and I was probably destroyed deadlifting the bar, and all I could do was look at the clock every once in awhile.

  3. OMG What is Jeff doing in that first link????

  4. What is EVOO?

  5. I made this mayo into ranch dressing tonight using the Primal Blueprint Cookbook recipe. It was delicious!

  6. great post from top to bottom Andrea… motivated me to that WOD as well, the 5 rounder JV did in CFS 1.0

    Felt terrible for about an hour post WOD…. iHeartPain

  7. […] – 1 cup homemade mayo (depending on how mayo-y you like […]

Leave a Reply

