January 24th, 2012

2012- The Year of the Push up!

No, this is not a plank for goodness sake! Push ups are the most cheated exercise in CrossFit abroad…and in our gym! Ouch! Yeah I said it. I’m callin’ you out! This gym (read you guys) keeps a really high standard for movement. Your squats are deep, your chin is over the bar, your spine is neutral, you stand all the way up. Our push ups, however, still leave something to be desired. Come to class tomorrow to see the new push up standard for 2012 and possibly beyond. It WILL make them harder. You may need to scale more. Your Cindy score will suffer. But! We will be the most legit push up gym anywhere and you will be better for it. I wouldn’t do this if I didn’t think you could rise to the challenge. Oh yeah, coaches, we’re living up to the new standard too.

Resting 60 seconds between sets:
Press 2-2-2-2-2-2-2-2-2-2

Post load(s) to comments.

then…

AMRAP in 7 minutes of:

8 Push Ups

12 Broad Jumps (4′ jumps across the width of a floor mat)

Post rounds to comments.

Compare to here.

13 Responses

  1. JV,

    Will there be step by step Push Up instructions/video’s rolling out the new “2012 CFS PU Standard protocol” for those of us that may not be able to make it in tomorrow? I want to make sure i am in compliance with the new standard. I thought the baby’s form was perfect until you called him/her out.

  2. What do you mean I don’t have good form on my pushups? – there is a child almost as big as the picture in the way :o)

    Looking forward to doing normal pushups again soon.

  3. Presses 85# (continuing my overhead frustrations)

    7 rnds + 7 PUs (Legit! or Leg It Push ups for Ellen :), I thought I’d be clever and do a short break after 4 PUs for each round to go faster at end. Time ended before my arms – should have pushed it for full count, then broke when needed.

    The last few WODs with push / pull ups have surprised me – had a bit more than I thought at end, need to step it up more during the WOD.

  4. Press 70lbs w/ 5 reps per round (trying to be very cautious as I build up weight) Up’d reps since light load (should’ve up’d reps even more).

    5 rounds+PU+1 Burpee (11.8wks-IF)
    6 inch worm Burpees for broad jumps
    Should’ve pushed burpees faster. I did not embrace the short wod to it’s full intensity, done before I realized, ops. The higher standard in push ups will pay off, not just in push ups but definite translating to other movements.

    love uber-caffeinated coach

  5. Press: 120lbs for all 10 sets of 2 (it was challenging but felt good)
    AMRAP: 7 rounds + 2 broad jumps

  6. Press: 75-80-80-80-80-85-90-90-95-100!
    AMRAP: 7 Rounds + 2 Broad Jumps

    Today felt good. I had to pry myself out of bed this morning, but this WOD was worth it, like always. 10# PR on the press! It felt great, and looking back I probably could have gone 5# more. Oh well, next time. My push ups are improving slowly but surely. I have been working on keeping a perfect plank and getting full range of motion, and I get stronger each time. But they still suck.

  7. Press
    3×145/1×140/4×135…last 4 reps felt te best.

    AMRAP
    8 rounds Legit!

  8. 95-100# Press
    8 rounds + 5 broad jumps

  9. Press 10 rounds x 2 reps
    115-120-125-130-135-135(fail 2nd attempt)-130-130-125-125

    AMRAP 7 min:
    7 full rounds + pushups

  10. Press = 75#
    AMRAP = 8 + 5 PU

Leave a Reply

