March 27th, 2012

Tension in the Air

I know you can feel it too. Its hanging like a fog over the bay off of the coast of London. It’s thick! You can taste it. There is tension in the air at CFS. No, it’s not the Open. Not Jesse, our honorary  member getting ready for the Regional. It’s not even the sound of Shawn’s new knee tendons getting ready to squat 400 pounds again. I’ve seen it on peoples faces. That wild look in their eyes. It happens every year about this time or at least this year and last. People are getting a little crazy about the Real Foods Cookoff. I swear the other day I saw Betty glaring across the room at Dawn while doing double unders. I’ve heard rumor of a Duffy hip check on Dwayne as they raced outside for a 400. One nasty rumor had the Pavs rigging people’s jump ropes before 12.4. Yes, people  will do just about anything to get a mental edge up on their opponents in prep for the RFC. Our kitchen has been like a science lab with last year’s champs, Maggie, Joey and Carlie, trying to create gluten-free gluten, reducing raw cream for a creamier product without heating it and trying to make fermented cod liver oil frosting for their primal brownies taste good! It is getting scary. If you weren’t intimidated, you should be now. Get after it people. You have got to do your homework if you want to win this thing. Besides the bragging rights until next year, the prizes will be well worth the effort. We want as many people to participate as possible this year. If you have not been a part of one of our community events like this you are missing out on the  most important part of the gym. The PEOPLE! If you are a novice chef just find a recipe on the internet and bring it on April 29th at 3 PM. Check out my last post on RFC 12 for more details on the rules.

WOD

Complete as many rounds and reps as possible in 4 minutes of:

  2 Rope Climbs (15′ ascent)
  15 wall-balls

Rest exactly 4 minutes, and then . . .

Complete as many rounds and reps as possible in 4 minutes of:

  10 Sumo deadlift high-pulls with a kettle bell (2 pood/1.5 pood)
  20 Double-unders

Rest exactly 4 minutes, and then . . .

Complete as many reps as possible in 4 minutes of  ‘Mini-Shawn’:

  Dumbbell burpee squat clean thrusters* (35/25 lbs)

*Start this exercise standing with dumbells in each hand, squat down and bring the dumbells to the floor, kick your feet back into the push-up/plank position, drop your chest to the ground and do a ‘push-up’ (OK to ‘peel-up’ like a standard burpee), jump your feet back in and then squat clean and thruster the dumbells to complete one rep.

22 Responses

  1. Shawn, you’re dead to me.

    • And John, you might be soon as well for programming that.

      • Not to put too fine a point on it, but I’m speaking of the dumbbell burpee squat clean thrusters.

    • You really need to get that app going. And pay Ben some sort of nominal fee when it starts making money 🙂

      • I second this! Great idea. I think the post could definately confuse anyone that did not eat a hamburger on Saturday.

  2. Can’t wait to see the non mini “Regular Shawn”

  3. Mini-Shawn: 23 reps Rx’d
    Efficient movement on transition tough! I don’t think I made any friends with getting that named after me. 😀 “makes the hurt feel good”

    Rope/WBS: 2 rounds + 2 WBS subbed Wall Climbs for rope climbs
    Wall climbs after WBS and DBBSCT uber-sucked, thanks a lot Ryan.

    SDHP/DU: 3 rounds + 5 GHD SU, subbed 10 GHD SU for DU’s

  4. John you found my nemesis Wall Balls! I’m adding these to my warm ups the w/ DUs.
    – Started w/ SDLHP DUs: 4 rnds + 8 SDLHPs, 2 pood and 2xSingles
    – Mini-Shawns: 26 & got in touch w/ my feminine side w/ 25#
    – Rope / WBs: 2 rnds + 1 rope, 20# but only to board height.
    Fun WOD with the variety, I should have started up the rope a 2nd time but w/ 12 seconds I didn’t think I’d finish (wimp).

    I liked the Mini-Shawns, they wiped me at 25# in the end but should try 30 next time (the thruster was getting hard but doable). Also need to speed up my single unders since I don’t seem to be getting the DUs.

  5. Oh yeah….It’s on people!
    mags

  6. Rope climbs / WBS: 3 rounds + 2 rope climbs + 11 WBS rx’d
    SDHP / DUs: 4 rounds + 3 SDHP rx’d
    Mini-Shawn: 18 rx’d

    The Mini-Shawn crushed me. I can’t imagine what a full Shawn would be like.

  7. oh yah Maggie its on, Granny Nanny is going to bring the best recipe ever!!!! I think you, Carlie and Joey should make the cod liver oil frosting, ewwwwwwwww!

  8. Jeff-
    RC/WBS Rxd- 4 Rnds + 8 WBS
    SDHP/DU Rxd- 5 Rnds + 10 SDHP
    Mini Shawn Rxd- 25
    Last rep on the Mini Shawn lock out at top was questionable, but I gave it to myself because it let me tie Ryan!

    Jesse-
    RC/WBS Rxd- 4 Rnds + 9 WBS
    SDHP/DU Rxd- 6 Rnds +2 SDHP
    Mini Shawn Rxd- 29

  9. RC/WBS Rxd- 4 Rounds
    SDHP/DU’s Rxd- 4 Rounds (struggled with the DU’s today)
    Mini Shawn Rxd- 25

  10. I especially liked the part where I hit myself in the face with a Kettlebel. Awesome.

    • I almost did that too Glenn! That’s awesome!

      3 rounds + 1 rope climb
      3 rounds + 5 sdhp’s
      17 mini-puukkkeeeessssss!
      Shawn is definately dead to me after this WOD! 🙂

  11. Oh yeah people…you only wish we were making CLO frosting…but NO we have something different up our sleeves…
    mags

    • Clever, Mags, clever. I’m excited to see what you come up with! And, a little scared too.

      I had to drill Jim to figure out what Dawn’s bringing this year. I may know.

  12. 2 rounds + 14 WBS rx’d
    2 rounds + 4 SDHPs rx’d
    17 Mini-Shawn’s rx’d

  13. 3 rounds +2rc+1wbs rx’d
    3 rounds +8 sdhp rx’d
    mini Shawn 22 30#

  14. […] The following day marks RFC12. Quite possibly my favorite day of the year. The event begins at 3 PM at the gym. Bring your family and your favorite award-winning Real Food dish. Bring at least 20 copies of your recipe exactly as you prepared it so it can be analyzed for quality of ingredients and so people can take a copy home to use there. Please bring serving utensils as well. Due to the number of quality entries we are anticipating this year I have decided to break the voting into two categories, “Sweets” and “Non-Sweets.” Instead of 3 prizes there will now be a total of 6. The top three in each of the two categories will take home the hardware. You are not required to bring a dish to attend. Mostly, we want you there to enjoy the amazing community that is CFS, but if you are on the fence at all as to whether or not to bring a dish jump in with both feet. You’ll be glad you did…and you never know, you might win a prize! For more info on RFC 12 check out these blog posts here and here. […]

Leave a Reply

