Chicken Salad

Here’s my take on the deli case original, the chicken salad!  We, at the Stein house, have devoured this salad every time it’s made.  To me, the things that make this recipe are:  the toasted pecans, the rosemary, and if you roast your chicken in the most perfect way, in a cast iron pan, you get this carmelized coating on the bottom.  You home cooks know what I’m talking about.  Perfection!

2 organic free range chicken breasts, roasted and shredded (your choice to toss some skin in there or not.  Sometimes it bugs me when it turns moist & soft, instead of crispy right out of the oven)

3/4 – 1 cup homemade mayo (depending on how mayo-y you like it)

2 green onions, diced

1 organic celery stalk, diced thinly

1/2 cup craisins (look for ones that aren’t full of crazy sugars.  I found a good bag at the Co-op.  Grapes are also tasty)

1/2 cup chopped pecans, toasted

1 tablespoon poppy seeds

1 stalk organic rosemary, chopped

squeeze of half a lemon

s & p to taste

How tos (super easy):

Combine all ingredients in a bowl.  Stir to combine.  Chill before serving if you can wait, if not, no worries eat it now before your family does!

Leave me chicken salad comments.

Eat well, Friends,

AnnieS

4 Responses

  1. LOOOOOOOVE it!!!

  2. That looks delicious! I can’t wait to try it.
    -CV

  3. I happen to have one last whole grass fed chicken left, and Sharon roasted it. Then I shredded most of it and made this Salad -AMAZING does not even begin to describe!!! I did not have any poppyseed (and decided not to drop the $7), and have to admit I used Olive oil mayo from a jar (very few ingredience…promise). Amazing!

    This is for sure a new staple lunch in my house now I just need a new grass get chicken supplier??!

    • Delicious, huh? I tend to not tell my family when I make it, because I want it all!

      I need a good chicken supplier too!

Leave a Reply

