July 24th, 2012

Yings and yangs…the squat

There are lots of Yings and Yangs to CF movement. They are the tension created between positions and opposing muscle groups that help  you perform. Most of them improve performance by putting you in proper position to move efficiently, powerfully and safely. Over the next few posts we will look at a few of them.

For the Squat the butt must go back (ying) and the chest must stay up (yang).

No ying, the knees go forward and the heels leave the ground.

No yang, the chest falls. Thank goodness this poor broken girls isn’t loaded!

Ying + yang= Nice! (Although her toes need to be turned in a bit, but that’s another post)

Post thoughts to comments.

For time:

30 GHD sit-ups
225 pound Deadlift, 30 reps
30 Double-unders
95 pound Overhead squat, 30 reps
30 Pull-ups

Post time to comments.

31 Responses

  1. 9:24: sub’d 90 Singles for DUs & 65# for OHS, my Ying/Yang was Yin/Yan today. The OHS were tough but I probably should have pushed it more.

    If anybody has a WOD book I’d like to see it on Saturday – I’m interested in the “waterproof pages” and format for specific lifts; is it similar to Hero/Girl WODs?

  2. 7:54 Rx’d
    Pretty happy with ;’
    effort, though really surprised I broke up the deadlift 20/10. My pull ups were also tough sell at the end of the wod, first set was only 9 after doing 18 yesterday in Fran. Gave up my ying on the OHS’s a few times, and everytime regretted it because it’s so much more work!
    Great efforts this morning, excellent job keeping intensity up on short wod. Especially Michelle’s virtousity for making sure she got legit, chin above bar pull ups, even while she was coming in last.

  3. 10:41 rxd. This wod looked fun on paper, not so much once I got to the overhead squats and pull ups.

    • what’s your secret??

      • my secret? John Pavlic telling me to grab the bar and do 5 more ohs until I hit 30. Then, telling me to take short rests and get back on the bar for pull ups. 🙂 Love him!

  4. Thanks to John for helping me push through to the end! 🙂

  5. 12:58 rxd

    I was very surprised at how much the OHS and the DL took out of me. I had to do them both in sets of 5. I’m just glad that my form is finally coming together on the OHS since they have been my nemesis for the longest time.

    Good job 9:15….its always great to see the newer folks workin hard….great finish Eric!

  6. 13:35 rx-ish

    I’m trying really to get rx’d butterflys. Some were def over the bar, some were not!

    Not a bad wod, my new jumprope rulz!! I’m so happy with it, it only took me 3 tries to get the DUs: it’s a miracle! 😉

    • who are you and what have you done with the real Andrea? The Andrea I know would never say anything nice about double unders… ever.

    • I need all the help I can get on Double Unders!!!!! What magic vendor did you buy it from?

      • I have to admit it is a pretty sweet rope. It swung so nicely with minimal effort to keep it moving.

      • I think it works so well for me because it’s so stylish! We got them from rx jumps or ropes or something.com. They did a custom fit on me and I went with a little bit of a thicker rope (I was flabbergasted after my consultation they considered me ‘advanced’) the super elite people (Casey) got the speedy ropes. Long story short I love my rope. Ask me, I may let you touch it.

    • Nice work on the double unders!!

  7. Mags-
    Abmat sit ups for GHDSU
    OHS- 33#
    DL- 85#
    10:29

    JV-
    6:07 Rxd

  8. At work: 15:30
    90 sit-ups
    205# DL
    200 singles
    95# OHS
    30 pull-ups

  9. 11:38
    Abmat sit ups
    OHS – 35#
    DL – 105#
    90 Singles
    Blue band pull ups

    Couldn’t make it in to the gym (darn job keeps cramping my style) – but was glad Val come over to do this wod with me at home.

  10. 12:57 at Pancho’s Strength and Conditioning

    30 sit ups
    205# DL
    90 singles
    65# OHS
    30 PU with Blue/red band

    DL were very slow X5 sets to avoid my high rep DL headache’s

  11. 13:03
    Abmat situps
    105# deadlifts
    90 singles
    25# OHS
    blue then some green band pullups

    I can’t believe how hard the OHS felt even at that minimal weight! But Carole assured me that my form stayed good, and hers did as well. 🙂

    Annie, you’ll have to let me know what this miracle rope is that you speak of…I can’t seem to find one that I like very much.

    • But, I should give myself a LITTLE credit because the last time I did OHS I’m pretty sure I only had the 11# bar. 🙂

  12. 7:40 Rx’d

  13. “I believe in God, and I believe in human decency. But I firmly believe that any man’s finest hour – his greatest fulfillment to all he holds dear – is that moment when he has to work his heart out in a good cause and he’s exausted on the field of battle – victorious.”
    -Vince Lombardi

  14. 14:44 mod- 2x abmat sit ups – rest as RX

  15. 14:03 did 55lb. on overhead squats. so frustrating that I couldn’t do the 65 but 55 is way better then I used to do…first time doing du after the foot injury. Felt good to get back into everything.

  16. 12:01 – modified!
    attempted the GHD, didn’t fling my body all the way back out of shear fear!
    22# OHS
    135# DL
    swapped for 60 singles
    last but not least, 15 PU with bands
    I Lived!!

    Thanks Brandie for all the help!

  17. 10:26 Rx
    Ugh – OHS were killers today

  18. 12:40 rx’d

    Doing this first thing the day after vacation was rough!

Leave a Reply

