July 27th, 2012

Yings and yangs…the kip.

Ying= We arch forward to take advantage of the stored energy in the stretch reflex

Yang- The abs remain engaged to avoid over extension of the spine and maximize the potential of the stretch reflex.

No ying. If you try to kip from here your are missing the power of the stretch forward.

No yang. Here you are compromising spinal position and extending so far that you are no longer efficiennt.

Ying + yang= Nice! In the forward position she is taking advantage of the stretch reflex involved in the extension of the shoulders and torso, but she is not over-extending and becoming inefficient and unsafe.

Post thoughts to comments.

Complete as many rounds as possible in 25 minutes of:

800m Run

25 Deadlifts, 225#

20 Ring rows

Post rounds completed to comments.

Compare to here.

The prescribed ring row for this WOD is feet on the ground, body in a plank, with the rings set at a height in which your shoulders are 1 inch off the ground when at the bottom of the movement with the straps straight down. The body should stay tight and move in a plank. This is not a kipping movement. Achieve full lock out of the arms at the bottom and touch your chest to the rings at the top.

14 Responses

  1. Pre-WOD comment: I love this! I was beat from this week & thinking “rest day” to get ready for Saturday then I read the “here”. Blast it’s the same WOD as 91 days ago…AND I did it. So it would be cheating not to do it again. This is only a “challenge” but never having been an athlete before this feels like a competition. I’m looking forward to competing against myself on this one.

    • Tied my pre-Challenge amount: 2+12RingRows. I needed my (missing) fellow Dark Lifters….? I appreciated Jeff’s individual attention (except keeping me honest on the Ring Rows). I hate 800s, I only start into a groove as I come back into the parking lot on the 2nd lap. It’ll be good to have the group Mojo to push me tomorrow!

  2. 2 rounds + 800m run with 85# for deadlifts and knees bent for ring rows, and certainly more than an inch from the ground. More like two feet and an inch. But whatever. 🙂

    I was determined to get that last 800m done. Thanks Casey for pushing me to sprint the parking lot to get it in time! Running is my biggest enemy so I knew I had to get in and do this WOD today no matter what. I could have easily not done it, but I wanted to push myself. I have to say that it’s starting to not feel extremely terrible like in the beginning.

    • I wanted to also say good luck to everyone at the challenge tomorrow, since I won’t be able to make it in. Can’t wait to hear the results!! 🙂

  3. 2 rounds + 10 rr

    205# dl heavy heavy heavy……broke into 5 each….ugh!

    It was fun chasin Annie on the runs, I’m really glad we had the runs because it was a nice break from those darn dl’s.

    Way to get in the door at the last second Val!

  4. 2 rounds + 11 rr

    125# dl

    It was fun getting through the dls and rrs before Chris. 🙂 I knew I had to because I knew he’d catch me on the runs. :(.

    Nice job sprinting In your last run, Val!

  5. I LOVE the new wall decal! Looks beast mode-y!

    • It needs some wall ball marks… (I like it also). I bet it was fun applying the vinyl.
      Charity: it’s not straight move it up a bit
      Jeff: Like this?
      Charity: No too much…
      Vale girls: Let’s go home, I’m bored…

      • The vinyl was a bit tough. D Pav is the man behind it. Awesome! No wall balls please!
        Jv

  6. Couldn’t get to gym. Garage wod.
    3 dips- tried kip half the time then went to band
    6 power cleans 95#
    9 toes to bar- difficult to grip our bar,resorted to double kip and broke them up. Ate up lots of time
    12 min amrap
    6 rounds + 1 clean

  7. 2 rounds + 10 Deadlifts @ 185#

    This was a heavier deadlift than I’d ever done in a met con before, so I was really happy to get two full rounds and then some.
    My muscular strength for the ring rows was gone very quickly. Those things are hard, especially at the end of the week!

  8. River WOD
    2rounds + 5 DL Rx

Leave a Reply

