August 9th, 2012

Q and A with Chris

Chris took 1st place in the Body Composition portion of our 91 day challenge. As you can see from the before and after pics above he did a few things right. Check out the  Q & A below to learn from him.

CFS- What changes did you make, if any, from your normal routine during the challenge?
Chris- I completely changed my diet to 100% paleo 6 days a week.  I cut all bread, pasta, and unnatural sugar out of my diet.  The only carbs and sugar I was eating was in fruit.  I didn’t really portion anything out, I just ate what I wanted when I wanted but made sure it was paleo friendly.
CFS-What did you do for workouts during the challenge?

Chris- I made sure that I made it to xfit at least 4 times a week and on off days I would go for a run outside or on a treadmill.  I always rested on Sunday to make sure I got a little off time.
CFS- If you could give people once piece of advice about making progress in their fitness, what would it be?

Chris- “Prep” is the word of the day….you have to have a plan week in and week out of what is on the menu for the week or you will be setup to fail.  I am lucky enough to have a wonderful wife that loves to cook and experiment with food.  She took care of all of my eating over the full 91 days and still continues to do so today.  I will not go back to the 210#’s I was and 22.2% body fat, I refuse.  I think the challenge was a real eye opener for me.  I am now starting to look the way that I have felt for the last year, strong. Oh….and BTW….bought my first cow 1/2…it showed up this weekend. 🙂

Shoulder press 1-1-1-1-1 reps
Push Jerk 5-5-5-5-5 reps

Post loads to comments.

13 Responses

  1. Nice job Chris! Can I borrow your wife for 91 days so she can cook for me? Please Katie!

  2. Congrats Chris, you look great. And congrats to the supporting spouse. You should be so proud and keep up the good work.

  3. Good job Chris – I’ve wondered if my changes were CF or Paleo since I started about the same time. Sounds like you attribute the composition changes primarily from the Paleo change?

    • Yea mark….I contribute my change solely to my diet change. I saw a small change in one year of doing CF on a regular basis. Again …..small! Katie actually took photos of when i started at Cf and that compared to 90 days ago an then compare to today is extremely significant. ! I’m realizing that I just simply will not see any change if I don’t change what I fuel myself with regularly.

  4. Fun being on the same bar w/ Shawn and Jim though the weights were always moving around!
    115 Press (maybe 5# PR) worked on keeping butt out a bit to keep back from arching…
    125 Jerk (didn’t have a 5 rep max) did think technique was getting better.
    Right shoulder has an issue, not bad but got to watch carefully.

  5. Press 1RM: 160lbs (95-145-155-160-165)
    Jerk 5RM: 205lbs (155-185-205-225F)
    Good day for Jerks, still need to get “Jim aggressive” on the start of the Press.
    I think on the 225 I only failed because I thought too much and lost concentration. Then I just didn’t have the motivation to try again within a minute before 6:30.
    Mark and Jim did a good job of moving better with each set, especially on the jerks.

  6. Nice job, Chris (and Katie!)!

  7. Shoulder Press 55#
    Push Jerk 75#

  8. shoulder press x1 – 65,75,85,90,95fx2,95,100fx2 so frustrating!! When will I ever get to 100?????!!!
    push jerk x5 – 95,100,105,110, 115×3 failed on rep 4.

  9. Great job, Chris! Your determination is inspiring. Nice work being so supportive Katie- team effort! 🙂

  10. Press x1 – 170 (145-155-165-170-175f)
    Push Jerk x5 – 197 (155-165-187-197)

    Chris – you are a beast! Really inspiring…

  11. Great work Chris! You look 10 years younger!

Leave a Reply

