August 13th, 2012

Q & A with Kandi

Kandi made huge progress during the 91 day challenge. She placed 2nd in the performance portion with a 16% improvement in performance and got 4th on the body comp. portion shedding 4% body fat and dramatically changing her physique. Read below to find out how she did it.

CFS- What changes did you make, if any, from your normal routine during the challenge?

Kandi- My 2012 New Year’s Resolution was to improve my speed during wods.  In general, I’ve tried to scale more so I take shorter breaks between movements. During wods with many reps (ie. Karen),  I try to take a break a couple reps before I am totally spent.

 CFS- Give us a short description of your nutritional intake during the challenge.

Kandi- I began the Paleo diet after the nutrition class last February.  I like it, however, I’m not going to lie, I have a serious sweet tooth and when I get stressed, it takes over!   During the challenge, I was great for the first month, then my son’s graduation, closing down the classroom/school year, vacation and my step-dad’s death crushed me.  I tried to recover the last month by sticking with meat, veggies and nuts and trying to watch the VOLUME of food I consumed.  The strategies I did use are far from innovative but these are a few that kept me going… 1. two eggs in the am or Stephanie just gave me a great recipe for a protein shake (handful of spinach, 2 scoops protein powder, 1 c. coconut milk and ½ c frozen berries) 2. Packing my own food when I am out at bb games or at my mom’s. 3. Prep baggies of precut veggies  4. Take buns off of everything  5. Scoop of almond butter or piece of dark chocolate for an occasional treat instead of a bag of cookies (which is what I really want).   

CFS- What did you do for workouts during the challenge?
Kandi- My goal was to go the gym or do the daily wod in our garage, 3-5 times a week.  However, when that wasn’t possible, John programmed short wods I could do in the garage, just to keep me moving quickly.  When I was without a gym, I used the Crossfit “travel wods” listed in my wod book (I think you can find them online, too).  John also suggested taking a kettle bell and jump rope with me when I was away from home.  I used the kettle bell for sumo-deadlift high pulls as well as the traditional swing. Added variety to the wods.

CFS- If you could give people one piece of advice about making progress in their fitness, what would it be? 

I’ve got two. 🙂  If you don’t have time for a full wod, do a mini-wod. Stretch, warm up with du or burpees then do a “21-15-9” of 2 or 3 simple movements (push-ups, sit ups, squats, pull-ups, burpees, lunges, du, etc.) or 3 rounds of 15s. You don’t need a full gym set up for these mini-wods. Second and MOST IMPORTANT: Listen to the coaches!!!  Ask them questions.  Follow their advice.  Sometimes, I swear they know more of what I can do, than I do!   I can’t say enough about how amazing the coaches are at Crossfit Snohomish!  John, Jeff, Annie, Ryan, Casey, Brandie, Matt and Shawn all have a wealth of knowledge to share, if we just listen and try to do what they advise.  I appreciate their words of encouragement when I’m about to give up, their advice on diet, form & technique (especially on the lifts), their suggestions on scaling &, of course, their reminders to keep my knees out.  

“Jared”
4 rounds for time of:
Run 800 meters
40 Pull-ups
70 Push-ups

Post time to comments.

19 Responses

  1. 53:21 Rx
    PS. Ouch!

  2. 49:42: 4 runs & stopped – I told myself to save the shoulder? I may have wimped out but was probably a good move. Pull-ups kept to 5 w/ switching grips (facing/away), Push ups (CFS stnd) started 10 but went to 5 during 2nd rnd & down to 2-5 during 3rd round alternated hand/arm positions. Runs were hard but easier than in past – better pacing?
    Jimmy kept muttering something about protecting his side job as a hand model thus the gloves… (good job to Shawn with the runs!)
    A dream last night incorporated this workout – it wasn’t pretty, fortunitely reality was better.

    • Good job listening to the body and setting the ego aside to get the best out of the wod. I especially liked how you made sure to finish that last run at top speed to finish with good intensity.

      • I should have gasped something as I went by since I knew I wasn’t saving myself for another set of Pull/Push-ups! Knowing you it was probably tough not to chase the rabbit!

    • Nice work on the pull-ups and push-ups today Mark. They looked 100% legit even as you got tired. Very tough with this amount of volume. Well done!

  3. 59:44 Rx’d
    Pretty happy to be done under 60mins. I honestly thought it’d take me 75-80mins. May have paced to much, but burnout was such a danger. I guess that’s why you occasionally run a marathon, to learn how your body works so you can move better next time.
    Big props to the whole crew for scaling it hard and giving it a good strong gut churning effort. You know it’s a bad sign when you’re looking forward to an 800m run.

    Rest in peace Jared: Our troubles in the gym are nothing compared to real sacrifice. Thanks.

    • Oh yeah, great job Kandi!! Watching you at the 91 day wod you really moved aggressively. It was great to see you make that mental switch from “gotta make it through it” to “i’m going to crush it!”.

  4. 57:23 rx’d

    This was definately a grinder…and I don’t mean on my hands :). I ripped on the last 5 pullups.

    Thanks for letting me finish after the time cap Jeff. ALOT of sweat flying around this morning.

  5. 2 rounds + 22 pull ups at the time cap
    I worked on my butterfly a lot, and it is finally coming together.
    Push ups are my nemesis. For whatever reason, they just destroy me. The runs and pull ups were fine, but the push ups took me forever.

  6. In 45 minute cap. Scaled: 1k row, 40 pull ups, 30 push ups, 800m run, 40 pull ups, 30 push ups, 1k row, 3 push ups (bars full), 40 pull ups.
    Great job, Katie. It was nice to have a rowing partner! 🙂 Nice work today to all. 🙂

  7. Being on vacation left me soft. My arms are feeling dead. I stopped at 45 minutes. Got in all 4 runs + pulls ups. I scaled the pull ups to 30 and used the green band and did 50 knee push ups. Still very challenging. Very nice to be back in the gym after being gone a couple weeks.

    Also another big thank you to Jeff and Charity for donating a backpack filled with school supplies. Very much appreciated. 🙂

  8. JV
    Rxd
    CFS push ups
    42:10 (I think-somewhere around there anyway)

    Mags
    4x
    400m run
    25 regular push ups
    20 pull ups
    32:??

  9. At work : 55min?
    Treadmill for the 800m runs

  10. 42:53 Rx’d
    CFS 2012 Style push ups.

  11. Congratulations Kandi! I am little biased, you are my wife of course, but I think you did the best in the competition! 🙂

  12. 37:30
    3 rounds and 1 400 meter run
    20 pushups CFS style with 10 pound plates
    20 pull ups (1st and 2nd round blue band, 3rd round red & blue band)

Leave a Reply

