Zucchini Muffins with Coconut Flour

You may recall last year’s zucchini muffin recipe, or have seen it all over pinterest.  This week I was the lucky recipient of a huge, I mean huge zucchini grown by our chic farmer, Betty!  I knew muffins were in its future however, I was running a little low on almond flour.  So, I played around and here’s our latest treat.  As you know cooking with coconut flour can have the tendency to dry out any recipe.  This test worked so well because the zucchini has lots of moisture in it already, so I didn’t need to add any additional liquids.  Thanks again, Betty!

2 cups almond flour

1 cup coconut flour

1 teaspoon baking soda

2 teaspoons cinnamon

1/4 teaspoon salt

3 small-medium sized zucchini, shredded

3 pastured eggs, beaten well

1/2 cup honey

1/4 cup melted grass-fed butter (half a stick or 4 tbsp.)

1. Combine the dry ingredients (flour, baking soda, cinnamon, salt). 2. Add the shredded zucchini and set aside. 3. Beat the eggs, add the honey and melted butter and beat a little more. 4. Add the liquid mixture to the dry and mix thoroughly. 5. Spoon into lined muffin tins and bake in 350 F oven for about 25 minutes, or until just firm.  Watch larger sized muffins, they tend to burn easily.

You may notice some little brown muffins, no they’re not overcooked.  After I made 12 of the above recipe, I put in 1 Tbs. cocoa powder and 1/4 tsp of cloves into the dough.  I mixed it all together and stuck them into tiny little muffin tins.  I’m not sure which I liked better– they are both awesome!

Zoey knows the most efficient way to thruster a large zucchini is to pop her hips at the top of her squat.  Yes, if we turned her sideways we would notice her zucchini is lined up with the middle of her foot overhead, or her midline.  Anything else would just be embarrassing!

BTW, I’m still in need of grocery pics!

Leave me Betty and/or zucchini comments!  And, I’m curious if you’ve ever thrustered a large zucchini– did you go for as many reps as possible, or a 1 rep max?

Eat well, Friends!

AnnieS

6 Responses

  1. IF I am so lucky as to get such a zucchini, I will definitely see how many thrusters I can do before making it into muffins using the fore-mentioned recipe. Yumm!

    • Joyce, I will have your zucchini there Monday at 4:15 or 5:15. I have an extra zucchini if anyone else wants one.

  2. Neighbor just gave me gigantic zucchini, will try to make these next day or two. Problem… I’m not sure what they’re supposed to taste like so who knows if I get it right. 😀
    And Betty told me I could wear a wig and call myself Betty, Brad’s spouse for the Fire/Police/Military competition.

  3. Also, try using the pulp, with SOME of the juice left in and then air dried….a fan makes it quicker,…..and try banana or avacado for 1/2 of the butter……

  4. Oops….I left out that it was the pulp from juicing things like carrots, beets, etc…..

Leave a Reply

