Processing Day on the Cheek Farm

We know Brad (the guy who smoked us all on the mile today).  He recently asked two of his favorite trainers (Ryan and I) for a favor.  Not being able to say no to one of CFS’ most charismatic of the Original Crew I hesitantly said, ok, even after he told me what we’d be doing:  killing (a.k.a processing) chickens.  I still don’t know all of the main details, you’ll have to ask Brad and Jeff those.  All I know is that my job was to keep the chickens cold, bag em, then move them to the fridge.  That I could handle.  Below are the pics from the day.  They’re not meant to be gruesome, but rather educational.  We all know the Cheeks love themselves some chickens.  In fact, these chickens were fed better than most Americans (I’m not even exaggerating on that one), killed humanely, and I’ve heard make incredible dinners.

CFS Swag in unusual places!

Ready to start your own chicken farm?  Leave questions for Brad, Jeff and Ryan to comments.

I will eat Well, Friends (when I eat my chicken tomorrow)

AnnieS

7 Responses

  1. What the heck is that funky white bucket in the second and third pics?

  2. Photo #1: the chickens are put upside down in cones (and you can guess what happens there)
    Photo #2: once dead the chicken get dunked in 150 degree water for 90 secs. Then they get moved to the funky white bucket. Water is sprayed in and it spins the chickens around and around to take off their feathers.
    Photo #4: Ryan plucking a few stray feathers.

  3. Are the upside down cone chickens ones that were raised specifically for yummy goodness or are they egg laying chickens that are past their prime. Sorry if the terminology if off. (fryers, hens, roosters oh my)

    I think we (Brad) needs to raise a couple of pigs and throw one on my smoker and make CFS Bacon out of the other.

  4. Yes, these chickens were raised to the highest standard of free ranging, specifically for roasting. Butchered at 12 weeks which is the correct age for these types of birds. The Cheeks did such a good job that some of the birds were over 7 pounds when it was all said and done. Enough for two meals for the entire Vale family…now that’s saying something. They were tender and delicious. Thanks Cheeks!

    JV

    • Thanks Annie, Ryan and Jeff for all of the help in getting the birds from the chicken pen to the freezer. Betty and I had one for dinner and I have to say it was really tasty!
      All the work that went into raising the chickens was worth it but let’s just say I’m not going to quit my day job. BTW Glenn, I’ve already done the pig thing and chickens are much easier!

  5. Question for the Cheeks – do you intend to continue to raise chickens for eating and will you be doing this again in the near future? If so I know someone (my boyfriend) who would be VERY interested in helping out in exchange for coming to see how this is all done and pick up any pointers you might have to share with us!

    • Hi Kate, Not planning to raise any birds until next year but I’d be happy to answer any questions you have. Brad

Leave a Reply

