Pumpkin Muffins

Apparently Starbucks controls the seasons, I know it’s fall when they’ve released their Pumpkin Spice Lattes.  Which means the red cups are just right around the corner!  Though a pumpkin spice latte sounds amazing, you won’t catch me drinking their syrup.  So, we find ourselves turning to other real foods pumpkiny favorites to take its place.  You won’t believe how surprisingly moist they are for how tight the batter is, which is shocking considering how coconut flour dries anything out!  These little guys were inspired by Bruce Fife’s “Cooking with Coconut Flour” cookbook (one of my faves).

6 pastured eggs

4 tbs pastured butter, melted

1/2 cup organic canned pumpkin

1/4 cup maple syrup

1 1/2 tsp. pumpkin pie spice

1/2 tsp salt

1 tsp vanilla

1/2 cup coconut flour

1/2 tsp baking powder

Blend all ingredients together, whisk extra long until clumps are gone.  Bake at 400 degrees until done.  Makes about 26 mini muffins.

My hints:   I poured this batter into my doughnut pan and made pumpkin doughnuts out of it.  Cute!

Eat Well, Friends!

AnnieS

11 Responses

  1. SO proud of my husband, John, for giving it his all at the Diamond in the Tough, Crossfit Competition in Santa Cruz, CA. He started the morning off doing the Bear Complex with 175#. Never putting the bar down for all 5 reps looked painful but his form was excellent. He completed the last wod of 3rounds of 24du, 12oh squats 95#, 6 c2b pull ups in 3:52, wearing Crossfit Snohomish swag of course. He ended up finishing the competition in 9th place! I am always in awe over John’s hard work and determination. He represented Crossfit Snohomish well. 🙂

  2. I think I’ll give these a try today! I can’t use any of the nut flours because of mu husband’s allergies, so I’m always trying to find things with coconut flour that actually taste good. I haven’t been too lucky so far, but this looks promising! Do you have an estimated amount of time they take? 10, 20 minutes? Do they get brown?

    • Val, I don’t really remember my guess is between 10 -20 mins, depending on the size of them. Dark choc chips are also delicious in them too!

  3. These are really good! Definitely the best coconut flour item I’ve made so far. Thank you! I think I put a touch too much coconut flour in, but they are still really good and not dry. I think it ended up being about 15 minutes. The coconut and pumpkin go really well together.

    • I am going to try these tonight they look yummy

      Awesome job John. Hope you and Kandi get to have some fun down there not that there is anything better then Crossfit 🙂

  4. We have a very similar recipe that we regularly use and it takes about 15-18 min. @ 400 in our ceramic pans (which has a tendency to take longer). It’s pretty easy to tell when they’re done because they get springy when you press on the center.
    -CV

Leave a Reply

