October 22nd, 2012

Even your coaches feel wiped out after some workouts

Just like the workout programming that we normally follow, do not always expect to be able to use the prescribed weights and reps for the workouts that I will be programming for the next few weeks.  Sometimes only one a few of us will be able to RX the WOD and the rest of our athletes will need to scale to some degree.  Other times 100% of us will be able to RX the WOD and the only difference is either how fast we complete the workout, how many reps we get or how much weight we lift (like Saturday’s workout).

I am not advocating slacking or going too light, far from it.  I expect you all to work very hard like you normally do.  As always, the goal is to challenge yourself and get better every day, not to destroy yourself competing with each other every day.   Tired and a little sore the next day = thumbs up.  Unable to workout or even bend over and tie your shoes = thumbs down.  –   John P.

Workout of the Day

 Part A.

In approximately 12-15 minutes and about 4-5 sets, work up to a heavy deadlift x 3 reps with near perfect posture and mechanics.  Reps should be unbroken and ‘touch and go’, but minimal bouncing.  Do not sacrifice form for weight.  Rest as needed between sets, but no more than 2 to 3 minutes.

 Part B.

On the minute, every minute, for 12 minutes:
6 Push Press (115/75 lbs)
8 Pull-Ups
10 Kettlebell Swings (32/24 kg)

If you fail to finish all of the reps for the push presses, pull-ups and kettlebell swings for a round within the minute, continue on and finish out all the reps for that round and then rest the remainder of the next minute that you bled into.  Then pick up again with a new round at the top of the next minute (E.g. – completed the 10 kettlebell swings at 9:10, rest 50 seconds, begin again at 10:00 with a new. . . and only complete 11 rounds).  Do not make up the ‘missed’ rounds at the conclusion of 12 minutes.  Your score will be the number of rounds completed within the one minute allowed.

Example score:

A. 275 x3

B. 6 rounds completed

24 Responses

  1. Heel is still healing
    Modded push ups for push press and hip extensions w/ 25lbs plate for kettlebell swings
    9 rounds completed

  2. A. 335 x 3
    B. 5 rounds + push press – pull ups killed me.

    95# push press and 20kg kettlebell

  3. 345# DL
    8 rounds

    I opted to swing the 53#kb and 105# for PP in order to get more work done. Smart move I think.

  4. JV-
    405# DL
    8 rounds rxd

  5. 165# x 3….5# PR from June. Kind of wanted to try a little more but it was the right move stopping there for my back.

    6 rounds. I’m with Greg…pull-ups are my nemesis. The push presses and kettlebells felt pretty good but those dang pull-ups…..

    Blue then Blue/red band for pull-ups, 45# push press, 26# kettlebell except my last round I did the 18#. If I realized it was the last round I would have actually just pushed myself with the 26#. It wasn’t hurting anything for me, I was just exhausted, and I almost immediately regretted grabbing the 18# to finish. Live and learn! 🙂

  6. Sorry I missed this today. I love your work outs John. Yesterday I did the 1600 1200 800 400 m run. At GP in the pouring rain it’s was hailing in my eyes but keep on going 🙂

  7. 157 # DL (wasn’t feeling as strong & my back was starting to round).

    8 rounds
    Blue band pull ups
    55# push press
    18# kettle bell (26# first round, but then I realized 26# was going to slow me down too much)

    Great job today Greg!
    Dark Lifters, where are you?

  8. Can anyone recommend a good place to buy weightlifting shoes? I’d prefer to buy them in a store instead of online. I’ve never really noticed them in shoe stores or sporting good stores before so I’m not sure where to start.

  9. Just to reassure everyone, the part B is supposed to be hard! I got 8 rounds and it kicked my butt pretty good. If you scale, di so with the goal of getting 6 to 8 rounds, maybe 9. I will put a follow up note in tomorrow’s post regarding this workout with a little more explanation.

  10. DL 3-rep max: 355
    Part B: 8 rounds w/ 95lb PP and 53lb KB

  11. 180# DL
    5.5 rounds. Purple band, 52# pp, 26# kb
    this was much harder than I expected.

  12. 6 rounds, did 1.5 pood (24kg) kb for first 2 or 3 rounds, then moved to 20kg. 75# push press throughout. Did part B first, not a lot left in the tank for the deadlift – 235# for 3rm.
    A big thank you to my awesome counter, Dawn! I was a little bit “drama” because I felt like I couldn’t breathe. I appreciate Dawn’s words of encouragement and focus. 🙂
    Ben- nice work! Incredibly impressive to do the last round in 53 seconds, unbroken on the kb and pp! Wow!

  13. DL 315-325-345-365-335

    8rounds –
    95# PP
    1.5p KB

    Thanks for the encouragement Kandi…last round was the best

  14. 3×270# (5# 1RM PR!)
    7 Rnds + PP & PU – killer workout. 65# PP and 44# KBS.

  15. B. 6 rx’d

    A. 205×3
    It was incredibly hard to hold onto the dl bar after doing B!

    I’ve got some reps that need to be cleaned up, my counter was pretty generous letting a few reps get counted. And my drama? Omg, someone needs to shut it down!

  16. $1.50

    275 dl x 3 – 6 rounds 115 pp – 35# kbs

  17. 305DL x 3
    6 Rounds + 95# PP & PU – 1.5p KB

Leave a Reply

