November 7th, 2012

Workout of the Day

A. 12-15 minutes to work up to a 3-RM Overhead Squat for today

B. For time:
60 double unders
30 burpees onto a 45# weight plate *
30 ground to overhead (power snatch) with 95/65 lbs.
30 toes to bar
30 overhead squats, with 95/65 lbs.
30 burpees onto a 45# weight plate*
60 double unders

*Burpees onto a weight plate: Face the plate and perform a burpee, then jump off of both feet simultaneously onto the weight plate. Your chest and thighs must both touch the ground at the bottom of each burpee in order for it to count as a rep.  You must fully open your hips while still standing on the plate before you come off of it.  You can choose to jump or step off of the plate, either way is fine. Smiling while performing the burpee is totally optional.

16 Responses

  1. Sad to miss this one, between a chest injury on Saturday made worse with the pullups/deadlifts yesterday – I’m into running for a few days

  2. The bar comes from the ground for part B. Rack should be used for part A.

    For part B, if you would rather do a clean & jerk for the ‘ground to overhead’ portion of WOD it is okay to do so. I would prefer that you work on a power snatch, but it is not essential. Overhead squat still should be an overhead squat in part B.

  3. Tough one today.

    A. Just the bar (45#) – working on form and flexibility

    B. 22ish minutes – scaled quite a bit
    30 DU
    30 Burpees w/ plate (smiled on the inside)
    30 Hanging power snatch @ 65# (working on form)
    30 mostly knee ups – there were some T2B at the beginning
    30 overhead squats – again, just the bar
    15 burpee w/ plate
    120 singles

    Got a lot of personal time and great coaching from Jeff since he only had to watch two of us????

  4. 18:42 rx’d

    Going from OHS to burpee’s was rough.

  5. 30:34 rx’d

    This is one of those wods you walk away wondering if you took a smoke break somewhere in there. I had good working sets of 5 – 6 reps on movements I had to break up, but my breaks must have been super long. 😦

    The 2nd set of burpees seemed to take FOREVER! I had every intention to smile on them, but I forgot to. 😦

  6. A. 135-155-165-175 OHS (10lb PR on 3x max)

    B. 20:01 Rx
    Sweatfest! 2nd set of Burpees took me 4+ minutes. Wow…

    • I am right there with ya Ben. 2nd set took forever. I seriously felt like it had everything to do with the fact my shoulders were trashed and couldn’t feel them til about the 10th burpee

  7. 3RM OHS: 215lbs
    (135-185-195-205×2-215)
    Part B: 16:36 Rx’d
    Agree with everyone else, second set of burpees were like molases. Just a Finding Memo moment of “keep on burpeeing keep on burpeeing”. Surprised by the the power snatches, thought I’d plow through, not so much, 8’s.
    Missed my window to swim wod, and then wanted to play with the cool kids…. Heel definitely not ready, tentative. But the wod was fun! Back to being smart tomorrow.

  8. 3RM OHS: 215lbs
    (135-185-195-205×2-215)
    Part B: 16:36 Rx’d
    Agree with everyone else, second set of burpees were like molases. Just a Finding Memo moment of “keep on burpeeing keep on burpeeing”. Surprised by the the power snatches, thought I’d plow through, not so much, 8′s.
    Missed my window to swim wod, and then wanted to play with the cool kids…. Heel definitely not ready, tentative. But the wod was fun, love me a chipper! Back to being smart tomorrow.

  9. 75# OHS 3-RM–18# PR from September! 🙂

    23:59

    120 singles
    35# OHS/snatch
    Knee-ups

    30 of everything, which I’m happy with since I kept thinking I would just stop at 20.

    • And I’m happy to say that Carole and I both happened to manage a smile at Betty. Betty just brings out a smile in anyone! I think mine lasted one-half of a burpee. Woo!

  10. jv
    Par b only

    11:50 rxd

Leave a Reply

